Windows 7 x86 poor SMB Performance
Hi

Im new to this forum so please forgive if this has been answered. I've searched but came up with no usefull results. Im pretty new to XBMC as well so there might be some things I've missed out on.

I've got a Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 host running my file shares, and it sits on a gigabit port, delivering in excess of 600 Mbps (measured using IPerf) to other gigabit hosts. I've put XBMC on my laptop, which is a fair lenovo thing, not top notch, however it's been playing anything I've got using VLC or Media Player classic so far. It's only on a 100 Mbit nic, but measures 90 Mbps + on every test to the server. This should be plenty for playing any HD content one could possibly throw at it, however for some reason high bitrate movies seems to cause me trouble when playing them through XBMC.

Playback itself is fine, however every minute or so XBMC needs to rebuffer. Looking into the debug log which can be found at http://pastebin.com/VLx3EdJu it seems both that XBMC works in the background gathering thumbnails and that the video requires some re-syncs during playback, I cannot tell wether this is normal behavior or not, however when I analyse the network usage characteristiscs and compare it to when VLC plays backs, XBMC does not put a constant load on the network connection, but jumps up and down erratically, where VLC constantly loads the network connection varying in bandwidth consumption.

The laptop is fitted with 4 GB memory. At no time is the CPU load above 40% and Memory consumption above 60%

From the debug log:
Starting XBMC (11.0-RC2 Git:20120229-f38655f), Platform: Windows 7, 32-bit Service Pack 1 build 7601. Built on Feb 29 2012 (compiler 1600)
Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU T6600 @ 2.20GHz
Desktop Resolution: 1366x768 32Bit at 60Hz <-- This will also be output through HDMI to a Samsung 1080p display, however its not the gfx performance which gives me trouble here.
Running with administrator rights
Aero is enabled