Xbmcbuntu, netflix, and hulu
First off let me say that I am completely new to this and just found out yesterday that anything like Xbmcbuntu or Openelec even exist so sorry if I ask any stupid questions. I just bought a Foxconn mini pc and I'm looking for a good htpc setup to put on it. My main focus is on xbmc which I already use on my other htpc but I don't fully understand how Xbmcbuntu/Xbmclive works. I understand that it boots directly into xbmc but is it possible to then close out of xbmc and use a webbrowser in order to use netflix/hulu or am I limited to just xbmc? If I am limited to just xbmc, are there any other options that I might be able to use if I want to keep access to these other websites?

Thanks,
Sean
With XBMCbuntu you can simply logout of the XBMC session and launch a full desktop session complete with web browser, flash, and Hulu support.

However, no matter what software you use, you will not be able to use Netflix on a Linux client. (Netflix does not like the Linux version of Silverlight) You can use a windows based system and run all of those things just fine but you may need better hardware.
Do you think this system would be capable of running XBMCbuntu or do I need better hardware for that as well?
(2012-03-21, 05:45)Herbiegaf3 Wrote: Do you think this system would be capable of running XBMCbuntu or do I need better hardware for that as well?

Well you haven't given us any details of your system, however Ubuntu will run on pretty much anything. Having said that, Windows 7 runs on pretty much anything as well. If your PC is the usual Atom CPU/Ion chipset Windows will run on it.

JR
netflix and Lovefilm both require Microsoft Silverlight and is it Windows and Mac only. Never on linux.
Sorry, I thought I listed the full name of the cpu that I bought. It's this Foxconn one here http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6856119050
That's quite powerful as HTPCs go, and should run any OS you want.

JR