Can't find TV shows ...

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
mjz3348 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I can't seem to find how to "add content" for TV shows.

I searched all over the XBMC system to locate TV shows, settings, add content so I can point the system to where I added a TV show episode. I followed the naming convention and I can load the file and play it.

What I can't do is have the system find the show, "scrape it" (tvdb) and add the fan art and other info.

Am I missing something?

(been all through settings, system, etc....I am using the Confluence skin).

Thanks
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-21 15:54 by mjz3348.)
find quote
Chris! Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,012
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 16
Location: England
Post: #2
So you've added the directory as a source then have you set it as tv show?
Then you'll need to update the library/ scan for new content.

Which part are you up to?


Flirc now has a forum: forum.flirc.tv
find quote
mjz3348 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I did not set it as a tv show - I did not see where to do that?
I did name a directory: /TV then named a subdirectory for the show /TV/Show then put the file in that directory: /TV/Show/Show.s01e01.ISO

After that, I restarted XBMC to scan for new content and it did not find the TV show.

(It did find a movie I added. The movie part works fine)
find quote
hmol Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Take a look here:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Add...s/TV_shows
find quote
mjz3348 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Hi hmol ...

I did take a look at the reference you posted. That's where I started and learned the naming convention.
I just can't seem to "add content" no matter where I look.

Also - maybe this is important ... when I use the XBMC remote on my Android phone (which works great by the way), I can see my movies, but when I click on TV shows, nothing shows up. So XBMC has no "knowledge" that I added anything.
find quote
prae5 Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 2,089
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 34
Location: Cambridge, UK
Post: #6
(2012-03-21 17:18)mjz3348 Wrote:  Hi hmol ...

I did take a look at the reference you posted. That's where I started and learned the naming convention.
I just can't seem to "add content" no matter where I look.

Also - maybe this is important ... when I use the XBMC remote on my Android phone (which works great by the way), I can see my movies, but when I click on TV shows, nothing shows up. So XBMC has no "knowledge" that I added anything.

You need to set content on the source that you have your tv content in. Bring up the context menu and set content on it.

Alternatively, this guide shows you how to do it and includes a video too

http://www.thexbmcguide.com/2012/03/19/h...ce-to-xbmc
find quote
Chris! Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,012
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 16
Location: England
Post: #7
Nice link! (shame it's dharma - but still nice link)


Flirc now has a forum: forum.flirc.tv
find quote
mjz3348 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Thanks Prae5 ! The link did the trick.
Problem solved ...
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 18,255
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 219
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #9
(2012-03-21 17:18)mjz3348 Wrote:  Hi hmol ...

I did take a look at the reference you posted. That's where I started and learned the naming convention.
I just can't seem to "add content" no matter where I look.

Also - maybe this is important ... when I use the XBMC remote on my Android phone (which works great by the way), I can see my movies, but when I click on TV shows, nothing shows up. So XBMC has no "knowledge" that I added anything.

Just wondering, were the other pages in that guide not clear, or did you not see the links? Not trying to be rude, just trying to honestly improve the wiki :)

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Add-on:YouTube]] = Add-on:YouTube, [[Adding videos to the library]] = Adding videos to the library, [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-22 12:42 by Ned Scott.)
find quote