Video Stuttering
Hi there i'm quite new with xbmc and loving it but i have a little problem that pops up now and again. I could be watching an video file lets say an episode of law and order svu, i pause the episode to go make a brew but when i come back and unpause the episode it will stutter. This has also happened on music files and not always when i pause the files i'm playinbg or watching., If i restart my htpc system it stops stuttering, any reason this could be happening.
Grab a debug log and post it to pastebin and link it here. Also give more detailed information about the specs of your system.
It is a known issue with Windows - a fix will be along soon.
System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon  AVR-3808CI  - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player  - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray  - X-Box 360  - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
I'm on Windows and have never seen this issue on any of my 3 systems. Strange.
@kricker - are you using DirectSound or Wasapi?
System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon  AVR-3808CI  - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player  - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray  - X-Box 360  - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
Default, nothing shown. I assume that means DirectSound.
@kricker - I can reproduce in Wasapi - haven't tried with DirectSound yet, but I think we just need to flush the Wasapi buffer on skip. CrystalP has done a few patches as well for some Wasapi pause issues (loses connection on pause). Thx for confirming DS is okay. Smile

To the OP - as kricker suggests a Debug Log would be handy so we can see which sound API you are using when you get this issue.