Can I share a library over multiple machines?
Obviously I wouldn't be opening the application at the same time on multiple computers but I would like to share the library. When my loungeroom HTPC is off, if I watch an episode on my PC or laptop, it would be nice if they all tied in to the main library stored on the HTPC (on 24/7) gigabit network

How does one set the library location?
You need to setup a mysql database on your server and then change the advancedsettings.xml and sources.xml on each of the clients

http://lifehacker.com/5634515/how-to-syn...-the-house
Wow.
Couldn't I just install the app on my server (which is the same as my HTPC box) and edit the XML files to point to the always on machine?
It's actually not that hard to do, I did it in about 20 mins and i'm no expert.

My guess is that xbmc does not come with any database server software and so there is no way to read the db over the network in the standard install.

FYI You must make sure that the sources on your htpc are network paths and not local paths for that machine.
(2012-03-24, 11:12)ringsting Wrote: You need to setup a mysql database on your server and then change the advancedsettings.xml and sources.xml on each of the clients

http://lifehacker.com/5634515/how-to-syn...-the-house

Lifehacker article is outdated. Use this instead: HOW-TO:Sync multiple libraries (wiki)
Man this is painfull.........

Ok long story short, I've got some issues getting this working.
I've installed mysqld community server on my PC, ver 5.5.22, I'm assuming 64bit is fine?
http://mysql.mirrors.ilisys.com.au/Downl...winx64.msi

I'm following the instructions linked in the post above me word for word.
"CREATE USER 'xbmc' IDENTIFIED BY 'xbmc';"
"GRANT ALL ON *.* TO 'xbmc'; "
Sadly the mysql console tells me nothing indicating this has worked, I assume so.

I modified my advancedsettings XML file and I note XBMC did take a bit longer to open (but I take this as a good thing, it's assumedly working?)