Win Low audio issue
Question 
Hi,

Im relatively new to XBMC, i migrated from Boxee after that last version didnt work on my PC at all.

Love XBMC so far, i am using the default confluence skin and its beautiful. Using it exclusively to play my extensive library of 720P movie files, mostly MKV format but with some MP4 and AVI thrown in as well

everything works great except for volume. On some movies its ok, but on a lot of them the volume is WAY too low. like i have to turn the volume on my TV up to 65-70 (on a scale of 100) which is simply unheard of for me using any other inputs. Its up so loud i start to hear hissing and all kinds of static noise which makes dialogue difficult to hear

Whats really strange is if i play these movie files outside of XBMC on the SAME pc (via windows media player OR VLC player), the volume is very loud, crisp and clear. like i can have the same movie playing at volume 15 or 20 on my tv with no problems and no background sound.

So i know its NOT the video files. However i guess i assumed that XBMC was just a frontend for playing the video files through windows media player and some codecs, so i dont understand why the volume would be different

checked the settings screen and nothing looked like it would help

i do go into volume settings in XBMC while playing the video file and the audio decibel level is set to the max

any other settings im missing or reasons for this discrepancy?

thanks!
What sort of speaker set up have you got? If it's 2 then you'll need to make sure that it's set correctly in both windows and xbmc, In XBMC go to System->System->Audio.. if you just have 2 speakers make sure it's set to 2 and 'Boost volume level on downmix' is enabled. You can increase the volume boost in advancedsettings.xml too (tho you shouldn't need to)
i.e
<audio>
<!-- Amount of gain (dB) to be applied to AC3 streams that have been mixed-down to 2 channels. Default is 12.0. Valid values are: -96.0 to 96.0. -->