Windows - Block screensaver

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Guuz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hello!

Since Eden and Aeon Nox 2.0 when i'm playing music the screensaver is not blocked.
I have set XBMC to dim after 5 minutes and turn of the screen after 20.
This did not happen before.
When the screen turns of the music also stops playing.

This might be a duplicate of http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=125527 but he/she was not getting any response. I hope somebody can tell me if this is broken for just me or for everybody.

Thanks!

ps. i updated to the git version, 3.0 branch. the problem still exists.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-26 20:53 by Guuz.)
find quote
BigNoid Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,151
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 102
Location: Below sea level
Post: #2
This doesn't sound like a skin issue. Can you reproduce the problem with Confluence? If so it's a XBMC bug.
find quote
Guuz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
The exact same occured to me 30 minutes ago and i indeed have the same problem with confluence...
searched the internet but i cant find anything.

sorry that i posted this here. know what i should do next to fix this?

thanks for the quick response.
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,875
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 101
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #4
Are you using the screens speakers to listen to music?
find quote
Guuz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
(2012-03-26 23:12)Hitcher Wrote:  Are you using the screens speakers to listen to music?
no, i got speakers hooked up to my receiver. xbmc is setup to use those.
find quote
phil65 Online
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 4,700
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 64
Location: Cologne, Germany
Post: #6
(2012-03-26 23:19)Guuz Wrote:  
(2012-03-26 23:12)Hitcher Wrote:  Are you using the screens speakers to listen to music?
no, i got speakers hooked up to my receiver. xbmc is setup to use those.

so only the monitor switches off? a better explanation would help.
perhaps your computer goes into standby Big Grin
find quote
Guuz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
First of; thanks for helping me!

ill try to explain better.

I set the screensaver to "dim" after 5 min.
I set the power saving to "display to sleep" after 20 minutes.

This all works as expected say in the case i forget my XBMC so it doesnt burn in the screen or cost to much energy.

But when i play music (and am in the music playing screen, tab, where you see the song information and fanart) it should prevent this.

Also when it puts the display to sleep the audio stops...
find quote
phil65 Online
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 4,700
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 64
Location: Cologne, Germany
Post: #8
(2012-03-26 23:39)Guuz Wrote:  First of; thanks for helping me!

ill try to explain better.

I set the screensaver to "dim" after 5 min.
I set the power saving to "display to sleep" after 20 minutes.

This all works as expected say in the case i forget my XBMC so it doesnt burn in the screen or cost to much energy.

But when i play music (and am in the music playing screen, tab, where you see the song information and fanart) it should prevent this.

Also when it puts the display to sleep the audio stops...

what about the option to switch to visualisation when activating screensaver? debug log could also help.
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-26 23:44 by phil65.)
find quote
Guuz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
that option seems to have no effect...

I got this from the debug log:

(removed unrelated stuff before and after. i started xbmc, played an album, waited 1 minute, saw the screen dim, then pressed S and shutdown xbmc)

Code:
20:15:17 T:1564   DEBUG: ### search url: http://services.tvrage.com/tools/quickinfo.php?show=Falling+Skies
20:15:20 T:2368   DEBUG: CAnnouncementManager - Announcement: OnScreensaverActivated from xbmc
20:15:20 T:2368   DEBUG: GOT ANNOUNCEMENT, type: 2, from xbmc, message OnScreensaverActivated
20:15:20 T:2368   DEBUG: ------ Window Init () ------
20:15:25 T:2368   DEBUG: SDLKeyboard: scancode: 1f, sym: 0073, unicode: 0073, modifier: 0
20:15:25 T:2368   DEBUG: CAnnouncementManager - Announcement: OnScreensaverDeactivated from xbmc
20:15:25 T:2368   DEBUG: GOT ANNOUNCEMENT, type: 2, from xbmc, message OnScreensaverDeactivated
20:15:25 T:2368   DEBUG: CApplication::OnKey: s (f053) pressed, screen saver/dpms woken up
20:15:26 T:2368   DEBUG: SDLKeyboard: scancode: 1f, sym: 0073, unicode: 0073, modifier: 0
20:15:26 T:2368   DEBUG: CApplication::OnKey: s (f053) pressed, action is ActivateWindow(shutdownmenu)
20:15:26 T:2368   DEBUG: Activating window ID: 10111
20:15:26 T:2368   DEBUG: ------ Window Init (DialogButtonMenu.xml) ------
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-27 20:27 by Guuz.)
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,875
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 101
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #10
Why did you shutdown XBMC?
find quote
Guuz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
(2012-03-28 11:52)Hitcher Wrote:  Why did you shutdown XBMC?

To get to my log file and the forum to post this. Also i wanted the logfile to be as short as posible so i did not have to look through thousands of lines of logging ;-)
find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,875
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 101
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #12
But you really need to post a full debug log up to the point the screen gets switched off.

Use http://pastebin.com/
find quote
Guuz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
(2012-03-28 13:40)Hitcher Wrote:  But you really need to post a full debug log up to the point the screen gets switched off.

Use http://pastebin.com/

Will do! But i can't untill i get home. Thanks!
find quote
Guuz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
(2012-03-28 13:40)Hitcher Wrote:  But you really need to post a full debug log up to the point the screen gets switched off.

Use http://pastebin.com/

here it is! :-)

http://pastebin.com/2hiBaqGr
find quote
humonculus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
I've got the same problem, running the latest XBMC from Debian unstable repositories. Any updates on this?
find quote
Post Reply