A6-PACK ☆ ISK 300-90 picoPSU HTPC A6-3500 Very Silent!

  Thread Rating:
  • 10 Votes - 4.6 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #481
(2012-05-08 18:53)ragedogg69 Wrote:  
(2012-05-07 22:20)Sdpbc Wrote:  I used these instructions without issue ...

http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/...-OCZ-SSD-s

Odd that your computer won't recognize it.


Another annoying thing, is I applied to get that $15 rebate for my drive and they denied it saying I did not include a copy of the invoice. However, when I look at the copies of the documents they received and scanned, they have a copy of my invoice with the drive circled!

Rebate offers are a goddamn scam. I expect my other two rebates from this build to be declined as well for some BS reason.
Still for the $350 I spent, not including cash back on my credit card or fatwallet, this is a great HTPC for the money.

Well I have received a couple rebates back from Patriot Memory.....
But it is strange I sent off my rebate for my SSD about 3 weeks ago.... they still have not received it.
I guess I'll wait... Angel
find quote
docholiday Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #482
(2012-05-08 10:42)altaz Wrote:  
(2012-05-08 08:35)docholiday Wrote:  Ordered everything!


ASRock A75M-ITX FM1
AMD A6-3500
Kingston HyperX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM 
Torq 2 PT232GS25SSDR 60 gb
Scythe SCSK-1100 100mm Shuriken Rev. B 
Antec ISK300-65
Unisen iPazzPort Pro Mini (Black) KP-810-10-A 

~$391 USD

Didn't get a remote, as I figured the iPazzPort Pro can turn on the HTPC and has directional buttons already. Too bad OpenElec doesn't work with the A6 though, would have saved me from needing the SSD!

Are you sure on that? i've been running Openelec with the exact same processor as you for the last couple of weeks with no issues.

I've been reading that OpenElec doesn't work as smoothly on the A6 as Windows.
find quote
g8m3r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #483
Hey, so I put this baby together last night but have yet to install Windows on it.
I have to admit it took me a couple of hours longer than I thought - it was my first htpc/mini built - have only done large desktops before.

I am still unsure about the CIR header as described in the mobo doc:
[Image: Capture.jpg]

Do I need it if I have no plans to buy the ASROCK remote? Just want to confirm that I will be able to boot from cold just by changing the bios settings. (using the Unisen keyboard)
Or should I just plug it into the USB 2.0 header.?

Also - does anyone know why I can't add to people's reputation? I only see the PM + FIND icons, no +/-. Is there a minimum number of posts that I have to make first?

Thanks
find quote
Victory Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #484
So, still no opinions about 3d fullsbs? :-) will it run smoothly, what do you guys think?
find quote
jack0w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: UK
Post: #485
(2012-05-08 22:19)g8m3r Wrote:  Hey, so I put this baby together last night but have yet to install Windows on it.
I have to admit it took me a couple of hours longer than I thought - it was my first htpc/mini built - have only done large desktops before.

I am still unsure about the CIR header as described in the mobo doc:
[Image: Capture.jpg]

Do I need it if I have no plans to buy the ASROCK remote? Just want to confirm that I will be able to boot from cold just by changing the bios settings. (using the Unisen keyboard)
Or should I just plug it into the USB 2.0 header.?

You won't be able to wake it from cold without the official remote.

The only alternative I'm aware of is to buy the Intel CIR mentioned earlier in this thread and re pin it for the Asrock board. This is what I plan to do, should arrive by the end of the week! Smile

Hope this helps!

*UPDATE*
Just spotted you mentioned using a keyboard, this may work if you don't turn off the mains power when your HTPC is not in use.

I'm aiming to use mine with only my harmony remote, which does emulate a remote with keyboard presses. I've only been able to do as I described above or wake from suspend.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-08 23:04 by jack0w.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #486
(2012-05-08 22:19)g8m3r Wrote:  Do I need it if I have no plans to buy the ASROCK remote? Just want to confirm that I will be able to boot from cold just by changing the bios settings. (using the Unisen keyboard)
Or should I just plug it into the USB 2.0 header.?

the ASROCK A75M-ITX motherboard is indeed capable
of being booted from cold using the UNISEN's IpazzPort Mini RF keyboard!

(2012-05-08 22:19)g8m3r Wrote:  Also - does anyone know why I can't add to people's reputation? I only see the PM + FIND icons, no +/-. Is there a minimum number of posts that I have to make first?

yeah i think you need like 15 or 20 posts before adding some rep points :/
find quote
jack0w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: UK
Post: #487
(2012-05-09 02:40)eskro Wrote:  
(2012-05-08 22:19)g8m3r Wrote:  Do I need it if I have no plans to buy the ASROCK remote? Just want to confirm that I will be able to boot from cold just by changing the bios settings. (using the Unisen keyboard)
Or should I just plug it into the USB 2.0 header.?

the ASROCK A75M-ITX motherboard is indeed capable
of being booted from cold using the UNISEN's IpazzPort Mini RF

Does that work even when the mains power has been turned off?

Could be a backup plan in the event that I fudge repining this Intel CIR when I get my hands on it! Tongue
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-09 04:18 by jack0w.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #488
the ASROCK A75M-ITX motherboard is indeed capable
of being booted from a total OFF state
using the UNISEN's IpazzPort Mini RF
find quote
lagledavid Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 2
Location: Las Vegs
Post: #489
(2012-05-09 04:18)jack0w Wrote:  
(2012-05-09 02:40)eskro Wrote:  
(2012-05-08 22:19)g8m3r Wrote:  Do I need it if I have no plans to buy the ASROCK remote? Just want to confirm that I will be able to boot from cold just by changing the bios settings. (using the Unisen keyboard)
Or should I just plug it into the USB 2.0 header.?

the ASROCK A75M-ITX motherboard is indeed capable
of being booted from cold using the UNISEN's IpazzPort Mini RF

Does that work even when the mains power has been turned off?

Could be a backup plan in the event that I fudge repining this Intel CIR when I get my hands on it! Tongue

watch beers video in the beginning, it show him booting with the unisen

My HTPC AMD A8-3870K CPU/ SilverStone ML03B/ASRock MB-A75M /Seasonic SS-400ET/Corsair XMS3 4GB
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #490
(2012-05-09 05:39)lagledavid Wrote:  
(2012-05-09 04:18)jack0w Wrote:  
(2012-05-09 02:40)eskro Wrote:  the ASROCK A75M-ITX motherboard is indeed capable
of being booted from cold using the UNISEN's IpazzPort Mini RF

Does that work even when the mains power has been turned off?

Could be a backup plan in the event that I fudge repining this Intel CIR when I get my hands on it! Tongue

watch beers video in the beginning, it show him booting with the unisen


Thank you.... yes it works................Big Grin Enable in BIOS that is all....
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-09 05:46 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
Wookie Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #491
I just got all of my stuff in the mail and plan to start working on this. Wish me luck Tongue
find quote
Bobur Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #492
Just want to say i built a system with almost identical specs as OP. Thanks for the detailed information and guides! Made the install quite easy. (BTW i don't have a 'thanks' button yet else i would have clicked yours!)

Antec ISK300-65
Asrock A75M
AMD A6-3500 (why would anyone need faster)
Scythe Shuriken (regular one)
8GB Corsair 1600 Ram
Corsair 128GB SSD

Only thing left to do is remove the god awful case fan. Not sure whether to get Noctua or Sharkoon. Any thoughts?
find quote
deibit Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #493
I have exactly this case, with a Zotac d2700, 4GB ram, and a Kingston msata SSD.

The power brick was not able to give enough juice to my setup.I could have upgraded the power brick, but I went to a 90W PicoPSU with a 120W 12V power brick.

That's the perfect combination, the case has much less cable clutter.

I even removed the pitchy case fan. everything runs cool as ice.
find quote
jack0w Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: UK
Post: #494
(2012-05-09 04:47)eskro Wrote:  the ASROCK A75M-ITX motherboard is indeed capable
of being booted from a total OFF state
using the UNISEN's IpazzPort Mini RF

Cheers eskro, noted! Smile
find quote
iConformed Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: IL Burbs
Post: #495
(2012-05-09 17:35)Bobur Wrote:  Just want to say i built a system with almost identical specs as OP. Thanks for the detailed information and guides! Made the install quite easy. (BTW i don't have a 'thanks' button yet else i would have clicked yours!)

Antec ISK300-65
Asrock A75M
AMD A6-3500 (why would anyone need faster)
Scythe Shuriken (regular one)
8GB Corsair 1600 Ram
Corsair 128GB SSD

Only thing left to do is remove the god awful case fan. Not sure whether to get Noctua or Sharkoon. Any thoughts?

I just replaced the stock fan and added second with Enermax UC-8EB fan's - very quite and move around 24cfm. $8 each on NewEgg, definitely recommend them!
find quote
Post Reply