Need help installing XBMCbuntu on Acer Revo R3700 please

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
xavor Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #61
(2012-04-20 17:33)erhnam Wrote:  Here's a new livecd with improved alsa configuration scripts. Does this solve your problem?

http://xbmcfreak.binkey.nl/xbmcfreak-11.0-v3.zip

I just installed this on my Acer Revo R3700 as a scratch install. Menu sounds, movies, music playing audio as soon as I logged in. Thank you very much I've been messing with this for days now.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-21 05:04 by xavor.)
find quote
TheFincher Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #62
Did this work for anyone else? Dubious about starting again as I know I'm so close to getting my sound working perfectly.
find quote
FuryStryker Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #63
I haven't had a chance to try it out yet, I'm skeptical of redo'ing my entire setup, but contemplating it since it's a PITA with some sound working and some not.
find quote
Finchy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #64
I got mine all working, although as I only have it connected to my TV I was happy with analogue audio and didn't try further to get DD/DTS.
find quote
avinitski Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #65
(2012-04-20 17:33)erhnam Wrote:  Here's a new livecd with improved alsa configuration scripts. Does this solve your problem?

http://xbmcfreak.binkey.nl/xbmcfreak-11.0-v3.zip

this got audio working over hdmi on my acer revo r3700 THANK YOU!!
find quote
Finchy Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #66
What's the difference between XBMCbuntu and Live? Presumably Live can be installed to a HD as well?

Which is best for the R3700?
find quote
norms Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #67
I also have a Revo 3700 which I had XBMCBuntu Eden RC2 working great. I upgraded to the final Eden release and experienced the VDPAU freeze error when playing some files so I did a fresh install of XBMCFreak v5 today and so far all is working great.* I also didn't have to fiddle on with the audio settings, they worked right away.

Edit*

Still have the random freeze with VDPAU enabled, not as often but still there.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-14 02:36 by norms.)
find quote
ipub Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #68
(2012-04-20 17:33)erhnam Wrote:  Here's a new livecd with improved alsa configuration scripts. Does this solve your problem?

http://xbmcfreak.binkey.nl/xbmcfreak-11.0-v3.zip

I've been watching this thread with much anticipation as I've had no HDMI audio (or video) since installing the current xbmcbuntu release.

I've tried the above livecd, doesn't work for me. I've set the amp / passthrough to my amp to custom plughw:0,3 as listed in terminal. This is the only setting that gets rid of the failed to initialise audio error when playing a video.

I've checked interfaces are not muted and I've also tried a custom asound.conf in the ETC folder... This is on the acer revo r3610 which hasn't failed me yet. Sad

I'm not sure if this is relevant but video outputs by VGA and audio to an amp via HDMI. this worked well for windows xbmc.
find quote
Dips Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #69
Try setting plughw:1,7

That's what worked for me.
find quote
Post Reply