NFS problems

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
whistlingdogg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I'm looking to move off my popcorn hour onto xbmc. To test a few things out I have the latest release of xbmc installed on my win 7 laptop. I have all my media on a WHS server and I current stream over NFS to the PCH (via powerline). I can add sources to xbmc as SMB but when I try and add NFS it doesn't find anything. As I mentioned, searching for NFS shares on PCH shows the shares fine. I'm serving NFS via HaneWIN. Any ideas?
find quote
prae5 Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 2,072
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 34
Location: Cambridge, UK
Post: #2
What happens when you type in the nfs paths directly? Can it access them?
find quote
whistlingdogg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
(2012-04-11 16:13)prae5 Wrote:  What happens when you type in the nfs paths directly? Can it access them?
I did try nfs://[ip]/share but it didn't work. Also tried switching off the windows 7 firewall completely.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-11 16:51 by whistlingdogg.)
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,621
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 112
Location: germany
Post: #4
xbmc.log needed

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
whistlingdogg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
(2012-04-11 23:13)Memphiz Wrote:  xbmc.log needed
Sure - I'll get it done this evening
find quote
whistlingdogg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
(2012-04-12 08:29)whistlingdogg Wrote:  
(2012-04-11 23:13)Memphiz Wrote:  xbmc.log needed
Sure - I'll get it done this evening

http://pastebin.com/bDUFTJWe

Steps to reproduce:

1) launch xbmc
2) nav to videos
3) nav to files
4) add source
5) select browse
6) select nfs

get a busy cursor then returns with nothing

tried again with nfs://10.0.0.6/Videos

again nothing is returned.

Log files don't appear to show much other than confirm that there was an error. The version and the hardware etc are available in the log file.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,621
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 112
Location: germany
Post: #7
Any firewall on your windows pc?

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
whistlingdogg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
(2012-04-14 01:12)Memphiz Wrote:  Any firewall on your windows pc?

From original post: "Also tried switching off the windows 7 firewall completely."
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,621
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 112
Location: germany
Post: #9
then you need to find someone who has a running setup with hanewin - it definitly works and there just seems to be a setup issue somewhere (a hand full of people around here are running hanewin without issues iirc). Also double check you got the latest version of hanewin...

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote