Pico PSU suggestions.

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #16
sweet!!
find quote
KraziJoe Online
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #17
Now I am wondering if the Scythe will fit. I haven't put it in yet but I have seen in a few threads that it may not...Guess I will find out.
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #18
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1073383
find quote
KraziJoe Online
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #19
(2012-04-13 18:17)eskro Wrote:  http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1073383

So is that a yes or no?
find quote
live4ever Offline
Fan
Posts: 645
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 5
Post: #20
The Arctic Cooling Alpine 11r2 (64mm height) fits in mine. I'd say it's a yes.
find quote
KraziJoe Online
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #21
(2012-04-13 18:17)eskro Wrote:  http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1073383

Ok, I get what you were showing me. Either cut some of the tray off or squeeze it in!
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #22
cut some
find quote
KraziJoe Online
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #23
Cutting will commence soon...Just waiting for the cooler to arrive.

One more question. The 102W PS that came in the kit

http://www.mini-box.com/picoPSU-120-102W-power-kit

Is enough to power my setup?
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #24
well, your CPU's TDP is 100w, so, it'll work.
find quote
KraziJoe Online
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #25
All set up...Pics in a bit...fast and cool and quiet...love it!
Oh, the Slim BR Drive fits in there fine.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-04 20:25 by KraziJoe.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #26
Hi KraziJoe!

ok, so, which PSU are you using
with your A8-3870K apu?

the stock 150W that came with the isk300-150?

or you took it off

and bought/installed a PicoPSU-120 with a 102W power brick?


thanks!!
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-04 22:31 by eskro.)
find quote
KraziJoe Online
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #27
(2012-05-04 22:30)eskro Wrote:  Hi KraziJoe!

ok, so, which PSU are you using
with your A8-3870K apu?

the stock 150W that came with the isk300-150?

or you took it off

and bought/installed a PicoPSU-120 with a 102W power brick?


thanks!!
I removed the 150 and added a 150 PICO just because I had having to daisy chain splitters etc. The 120 did not have the 12 volt connection and was only 20 pin. So I am running the 150 with the 102 brick. If I need to get a bigger brick, I will but I don't think I will have to.
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,316
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #28
(2012-05-05 14:05)KraziJoe Wrote:  I removed the 150 and added a 150 PICO just because I had having to daisy chain splitters etc. The 120 did not have the 12 volt connection and was only 20 pin. So I am running the 150 with the 102 brick. If I need to get a bigger brick, I will but I don't think I will have to.
You'll be fine with 102w for normal HTPC tasks, and PiCo PSU peak higher than its max spec too. For heavier tasks (blu-ray trandconding/editing in the background while watching blu-ray movie), 102w might not be enough....

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #29
so the A8-3870K can be handled by a 102W PSU.

weird that another member here had trouble with the A8-3850 and his 120W Power Brick.
find quote
jaochoo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
I will use this thread since it's related to the topic of PicoPSU:

I am currently planning my first HTPC build and came across the topic of PicoPSU. The concept sounds tempting because of less heat and noise in the case. Can I use a PicoPSU with any HTPC build? How can I determine whether I can use a PicoPSU and which one (I understand there are 120, 150, etc.)?
find quote