[SSD] Patriot Torqx2 win7 Boot Times?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #1
Hey guys, i was wondering if my Patriot Torqx2 SSD was slowish or what...

From a total OFF state to a Fully loaded win7 desktop,

its take roughly ~ 50secondz .... and also XBMC freezes at startup.... since it's in the startup folder.

i asked eskro and he said his 'slower' Corsair Nova boot in 35 secondz...

so, again, to those who own the same SSD as me,

and are also using win7,

what are your boot times From a total OFF state to a Fully loaded win7 desktop?

if my SSD is not cutting it, i'll return it and get the famous Crucial M4...

peace


[color=#FF0000][size=medium]RESOLVED!

This had me pulling my hair and made me test a regular HD and it did the same thing.
I found why...

I did change my background to a SOLID black color from windows and apparently that has a bug and it's on SP1 too.

Solution if you wan't black just create a 1920x1080 black Jpeg and use that. Never use the solid colors windows uses.

More info: http://lifehacker.com/5451159/solid+colo...ze][/color]

Check out my build for more info: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?pid...pid1077038
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-16 18:10 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
skippy Offline
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
(2012-04-14 08:45)Beer40oz Wrote:  Hey guys, i was wondering if my Patriot Torqx2 SSD was slowish or what...

From a total OFF state to a Fully loaded win7 desktop,

its take roughly ~ 50secondz ....

i asked eskro and he said his 'slower' Corsair Nova boot in 35 secondz...

so, again, to those who own the same SSD as me,

and are also using win7,

what are your boot times From a total OFF state to a Fully loaded win7 desktop?

if my SSD is not cutting it, i'll return it and get the famous Crucial M4...

peace

I just posted to your other thread. Smile. I recall booting in 20s, win 7. I'll have time it again, maybe if I have some time, I'll take a short video. I have the same exact drive.
find quote
skippy Offline
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I was really mistaken, it takes roughly 1m 40s from a cold boot.

5s before the start screen showed up
5s for the bios logo to disappear
1m 30s for windows to boot and completely be logged ready to go.

Maybe something is screwed up with my setup...Sad
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #4
wooaaa,,, more then 1min is too much,,,
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #5
(2012-04-14 09:14)skippy Wrote:  I was really mistaken, it takes roughly 1m 40s from a cold boot.

5s before the start screen showed up
5s for the bios logo to disappear
1m 30s for windows to boot and completely be logged ready to go.

Maybe something is screwed up with my setup...Sad

Now something is bad,....
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #6
someone can check this out for me please?

to those who are using the ASROCK A75M-ITX mainboard and an SSD,

do you guys see somthing similar like this here in Device Manager?

[Image: J7MUj.jpg]

because from my end, all i see is "AMD SATA CONTROLLER"

so no reference to AHCI ...

its really unCLear...

maybe AMD doesnt specify AHCI like INTEL does in device manager?

i dunno,,,

what do u guys have?

thanks!
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-14 09:59 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #7
well after reading this article here

http://linuxtweaking.blogspot.ca/2010_06...chive.html

i say you do have AHCI and also using it...

Microsoft's default device manager name for AHCI is
something looking like --> Standard AHCI 1.0 Serial ATA Controller

AMD's default device manager name for AHCI is simply--> AMD SATA Controller'
(which confuses ppl)

now, why 50seconds to boot? i dunno..

cant pin point.

if u tested the drive speed using AS SSD and ATTO DISK BENCHMARK,
and get normal expecting resultz,

man, im puzzled...

is the Torqx2 a slow booting drive and thats it?
is that it?
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-14 10:15 by eskro.)
find quote
Jetster Offline
Fan
Posts: 447
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 4
Location: Oregon
Post: #8
Mine is 25 seconds
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #9
(2012-04-14 11:52)Jetster Wrote:  Mine is 25 seconds

yes but your using the CRUCIAL M4.
find quote
evanl81 Offline
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
My Torqx boots Windows 7 Ultimate in under 30 seconds.
find quote
Kirky99 Offline
Fan
Posts: 610
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #11
How much time to post, how much time to Loading WIndows, how much time to desktop?
find quote
TeKo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 964
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 11
Post: #12
About 30 secs depending which board.

Just tested, 35sec from cold into XBMC.
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #13
I also found out I can not get the mobo logo to load.... and also when at start I don't get the logo of windows completely finish just the color balls going around but incomplete and to the blue loading screen. Maybe I should reinstall win.... try again.

Or if not I am going to buy this Samsung 830.. But man... I don't really want to spend 100 bucks on a ssd.....
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-14 16:48 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
skippy Offline
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
(2012-04-14 09:58)Beer40oz Wrote:  someone can check this out for me please?

to those who are using the ASROCK A75M-ITX mainboard and an SSD,

do you guys see somthing similar like this here in Device Manager?

[Image: J7MUj.jpg]

because from my end, all i see is "AMD SATA CONTROLLER"

so no reference to AHCI ...

its really unCLear...

maybe AMD doesnt specify AHCI like INTEL does in device manager?

i dunno,,,

what do u guys have?

thanks!

I have the following entries:
IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers
ATA Channel 0
ATA Channel 0
ATA Channel 1
ATA Channel 1
Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller

Btw, I have the same CPU, same motherboard just the micro ATX size, and same SSD.
find quote
lath19 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
I have 64gb Torqx2. Takes roughly 25-28 seconds to boot win 7 with xbmc running on start up. ACHI, haven't done any other optimizations yet.
find quote
Post Reply