[MQ3] Blank backgrounds

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
SavellM Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #1
Hi all...

So I have just built a new HTPC.
I have installed OpenELEC 2.0 PVR (Beta 1) - 1.95.1 - i386 (146 MB)

Its installed fine.
I do not have a PVR card yet, but plan to get one in the future which is why I chose this build.

Now I installed Aeon MQ3 via the repository and it installed fine.
Default skin looked fine.
Then I downloaded the cold and darkness themes.
I have installed them but now my background art in Music, Movies, TV Shows do not show up.
Its just a black screen, with the menu bar and everything,
Just no background images.
Its still fully usable, just looks crud.

I have uninstalled the skin and installed a new one.
Tried different theme, but still happens, even on the default one that did work.

All other backgrounds work, like Weather, and Settings, and Shutdown, all of them.
Just the 3 above dont...

Any idea?
I have removed the repository and re-added, still nada.

My full HTPC build log:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=129352
Core i3-2120T 2.6Ghz, 4gb Kingston DDR3, mSATA SSD, Moneual 312 Case, GT520 GPU
find quote
SavellM Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #2
Can anyone help me with this?

My full HTPC build log:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=129352
Core i3-2120T 2.6Ghz, 4gb Kingston DDR3, mSATA SSD, Moneual 312 Case, GT520 GPU
find quote
SavellM Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #3
Can anyone help to to fully remove this skin so that I can re-download from scratch?
As when I uninstall it, it re-installs way too quick like it doesn't download anything.

So it must be stored somewhere.
Can anyone help me to fully remove this skin, then I can try re-download the repository?

My full HTPC build log:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=129352
Core i3-2120T 2.6Ghz, 4gb Kingston DDR3, mSATA SSD, Moneual 312 Case, GT520 GPU
find quote
RavenNL Offline
Fan
Posts: 311
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Netherlands
Post: #4
check the c:\users\USERNAME\appdata\roaming\xbmc\addons\packages folder

[Image: watched-fanart.jpg]
find quote
SavellM Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #5
Thanks for the reply, but im using OpenELEC, so linux.

My full HTPC build log:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=129352
Core i3-2120T 2.6Ghz, 4gb Kingston DDR3, mSATA SSD, Moneual 312 Case, GT520 GPU
find quote
MR.WaynesWorld Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I am also having this issue with MQ3. New install of XBMC, followed by install of all addons required and MQ3. Switched to show fanart for movies and I get a black screen and the menu...

I have already tried removing XBMC completely and re-install same issue...

BTW, Windows 7 64 bit OS..
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-26 13:06 by MR.WaynesWorld.)
find quote
Pikselli Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Same Problem under Windows 7 64bit after new installation
find quote
nick_l Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Having the same problem. I'm glad to know that it's not just me!
find quote
SavellM Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 287
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #9
So is this a common problem with a new installation and Aeon MQ3?

My full HTPC build log:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=129352
Core i3-2120T 2.6Ghz, 4gb Kingston DDR3, mSATA SSD, Moneual 312 Case, GT520 GPU
find quote
Pikselli Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
(2012-04-28 19:08)SavellM Wrote:  So is this a common problem with a new installation and Aeon MQ3?

Seems to be
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,473
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #11
common problem with a new installation and Aeon MQ3?

uhm, no, not at all...

this is an on going issue ever since i use AEON MQ skin..

back when it was MQ2, i asked personaly the author, MArcosQui,

to acknowledge and fix this blackscreen issue on main menu...

its been denied, never fixed, and still is an ongoing problem in MQ3...

MQ3 is a beautiful skin, its the bugs that it contains that destroys it.

and not to mention, support for the skin is pretty much in-existent... (btw, i donated to marcosqui)

hence many are now using AEON NOX... simply works...

and lately, in aeon mq3 v2.0.1

down arrow 3 times trailer not working for me...

trailers do work correctly when launched from info window,,,

but none plays when i hit down arrow 3 times...

of course, im talkng about online youtube steaming trailers!!
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-02 07:39 by eskro.)
find quote
Maxi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #12
Hi All

Indeed this is a bug introduced in the last 2 releases of Aeon MQ

You can see the discussion on the main AEON MQ3 thread, somewhere after page 300

Somebody seems to have found a solution, although I haven't tested it myself

(2012-04-13 14:02)Tommy2012 Wrote:  
(2012-04-12 23:53)kees667 Wrote:  I no longer see music fanart in filemode, Happens since 2.0 release I think With fanart I mean the fanart stored in each mp3 folder as fanart.jpg.

I can get fanart for currently playing artist to show in main menu or as background when browsing my files but not the fanart of the folder I'm in. Is this a bug or has this functionality been removed?


Hi Kees667

Here is the problem and solution: The problem is with MQ3 2.0

Solution:
You need to have an older version(MQ3 1.2 4).

Look under (Windows, Mac) AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\skin.aeonmq.3\720p

Delete the following two files in this directory - 1.) includes.xml
2.) MyMusicSongs.xml

(These two files is the problem that causes the fanart not to work in Music Filemode/Playlist.)

So after deleting these two files, open older version of MQ3 1.2.4 (or older) and copy these two same files in this version(MQ3 1.2.4) to the directory (Windows, Mac) AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\skin.aeonmq.3\720p - (where old ones was deleted)

This will bring back the Fanart in Music Filemode/Playlist as before Big Grin
find quote
Ghostdivision Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 751
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Does anyone have an older version of mq3 so i can grab the two files above?

I am having the fanart music issue.
find quote
azula Offline
Member
Posts: 86
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
glad I found this, I was about to pull my hair out.
find quote