Will 1st Gen ATV be good enough?
I've been using an ATV2 for a few months and it seems I have finally got it working just right and remaining stable.

So I was thinking of getting one for the other room...just as stocks of ATV2 run dry and prices go through the roof!

Used 1st gen jailbroken ATVs are more sensibly priced. So, my question is, would a 1st gen ATV allow me to do everything that the ATV2 does? I have read the FAQ about installing different operating systems and installing chips but I really don't want to do that. What I have in mind is a bog standard ATV1 with the latest version of XBMC.

Does anyone have experiences of both that they could share?
A bit more about it here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=129167 from what ive read it is recommended to install the Broadcom HD card.
Set Up
Raspberry Pi running Raspbmc - XBMC 12.2
40" Samsung ES6800 LED Smart 3D 1080P TV
Onkyo HTS3405 5.1 DD True HD and DTS-HD Surround Sound
ReadyNAS Duo with 4TB (2 x 2TB X-RAID) Western Digital Caviar Green using NFS
Thanks. That doesn't sound very promising! I really don't want to go opening the box up and installing operating systems.
There are lots of good tutorials. Wiki: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=App...Crystal_HD installation tutorial: http://rufn.it/aTV/
Set Up
Raspberry Pi running Raspbmc - XBMC 12.2
40" Samsung ES6800 LED Smart 3D 1080P TV
Onkyo HTS3405 5.1 DD True HD and DTS-HD Surround Sound
ReadyNAS Duo with 4TB (2 x 2TB X-RAID) Western Digital Caviar Green using NFS
For 480p video and performance skins, you'll be fine. Anything more, and you'll want to add a card for best performance. What did you do for ATV2 stability? I shelved mine because XBMC crashed all over the place. Wasn't even practical to watch stuff.
1st generation ATV with Broadcom HD card can do 1080p. Without the HD card you are stuck to SD. Some 720p will play OK, most won't.