Audio cuts out with DTS-HD

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
VanillaXtract Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #1
I have several mkvs that I ripped with makemkv and compressed with handbrake. I have DTS-HD only track. I can watch the movie and it plays fine. My receiver only sees DTS (no HD as expected). But after about 30min or so the audio cuts out. XBMC quits sending an audio signal all together. I can no longer hear menu selections or anything. After a reboot all works fine. I have only noticed this on files with DTS-HD.

1) Do I need to alter a setting to prevent this?
2) When will nightlies start back up and will they include the HD codecs?

My mobo is ASUS AT3N7A-I (Ion 330HT)

Thanks for any help.

Living Room: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | Atom D525 | ATI HD 5430 | Gotham | VIZIO XVT553SV | Yamaha RX-V665 | Harmony One | 7.1 Polk Surround
Den: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | ION 330HT | Gotham | VIZIO E370VA
NAS: WHS 2011 | 20TB on DrivePool | MySQL DB (XBMC) | Subsonic
find quote
matt77303 Offline
Fan
Posts: 349
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 6
Post: #2
As it stands eden doesn't support HD audio, apparently it is coming.

Matt

CPU - AMD Athlon™ II X2 Dual-Core 3.4Ghz
MB - ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3, Nvidia 610 2GB
RAM - 4GB DDR3 Dual-Channel
OS - XBMC Frodo
TV - Panasonic TX-P50S21B
Home Cinema - Pioneer VSX-S300 5.1
Remote - Harmony one
find quote
VanillaXtract Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #3
I know that already. My question is though is it expected for audio to quit working when playing a movie with HD audio? After I stop the movie no sound works. Not in the menus or in a file with regular audio. The only way I can restore sound is by a reboot. My question is how to prevent this from happening.

Living Room: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | Atom D525 | ATI HD 5430 | Gotham | VIZIO XVT553SV | Yamaha RX-V665 | Harmony One | 7.1 Polk Surround
Den: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | ION 330HT | Gotham | VIZIO E370VA
NAS: WHS 2011 | 20TB on DrivePool | MySQL DB (XBMC) | Subsonic
find quote
VanillaXtract Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #4
any help?

Living Room: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | Atom D525 | ATI HD 5430 | Gotham | VIZIO XVT553SV | Yamaha RX-V665 | Harmony One | 7.1 Polk Surround
Den: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | ION 330HT | Gotham | VIZIO E370VA
NAS: WHS 2011 | 20TB on DrivePool | MySQL DB (XBMC) | Subsonic
find quote
Jan-Erik Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Not sure it help you, but I had problem with one of the DTS-HD demo videos (.m2ts) cut out the sound at a certain point and then back again a few second later.
After update XBMCbuntu to 12.10 (developer version) the video was playing fine.

/Jan-Erik

XBMCbuntu Eden
Acer Aspire 3600, NVidia ION
Linux 3.0.0-24-generic (Now running stable without any freeze)
find quote
VanillaXtract Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #6
It does help I suppose. Do I have access to this?

Living Room: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | Atom D525 | ATI HD 5430 | Gotham | VIZIO XVT553SV | Yamaha RX-V665 | Harmony One | 7.1 Polk Surround
Den: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | ION 330HT | Gotham | VIZIO E370VA
NAS: WHS 2011 | 20TB on DrivePool | MySQL DB (XBMC) | Subsonic
find quote
john.cord Offline
Fan
Posts: 465
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 6
Location: Vienna
Post: #7
Pick a ppa ob your choice...

Im on https://launchpad.net/~nathan-renniewald...mc-nightly
find quote
David1977 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 5
Location: Germany
Post: #8
I had nearly the same problem...

Watching a film with DTS-HD...after half an hour the sound stops, but the movie is still playing.

Changing the language of the movie (in example from german to english and back again to german) I had sound again with no reboot.

I´m not sure If the DTS-HD sound causes the issue or if it is caused by the mkv or m2ts. But I don´t have a solution for this.

Greetings
find quote
VanillaXtract Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #9
(2012-04-30 13:25)john.cord Wrote:  Pick a ppa ob your choice...

Im on https://launchpad.net/~nathan-renniewald...mc-nightly

Ya, I have no clue as to which one to grab or how to install from there.

Living Room: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | Atom D525 | ATI HD 5430 | Gotham | VIZIO XVT553SV | Yamaha RX-V665 | Harmony One | 7.1 Polk Surround
Den: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | ION 330HT | Gotham | VIZIO E370VA
NAS: WHS 2011 | 20TB on DrivePool | MySQL DB (XBMC) | Subsonic
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #10
Some of those DTS-HD samples do have glitches.

The issue should not be related to the fact that it's a DTS-HD - it will be played as a normal DTS (as you know - only the core played). Guessing there's just a bad spot in the track if switching tracks worked.

And yes, if your hardware supports it HD audio is coming soon.

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
VanillaXtract Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #11
Mine are mkvs that I've ripped with MakeMKV then ran through Handbrake. It happens at a different point in the movie, depending on where I start the movie from. My problem all sounds stops working, even after I stop that movie and try to play something else. My receiver indicates that no audio signal is being received. No button presses, menu sounds, nothing. I have to reboot to get the receiver to recognize an audio signal. I suppose it could be a problem with my receiver, but it supports DTS-HD/TrueHD.

Living Room: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | Atom D525 | ATI HD 5430 | Gotham | VIZIO XVT553SV | Yamaha RX-V665 | Harmony One | 7.1 Polk Surround
Den: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | ION 330HT | Gotham | VIZIO E370VA
NAS: WHS 2011 | 20TB on DrivePool | MySQL DB (XBMC) | Subsonic
find quote
dandirk Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #12
Can speak for all sounds since menu sounds didn't work for me until 11.1 (and I don't really care for them anyways).

Though on RC2, I did notice this type of behavior from time to time, I usually just stopped the video and restarted it (with resume feature obviously) and sounds came back.

Have not noticed this yet on openelec beta but haven't watch too much stuff yet.
find quote
VanillaXtract Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #13
(2012-05-04 19:55)DDDamian Wrote:  Some of those DTS-HD samples do have glitches.

The issue should not be related to the fact that it's a DTS-HD - it will be played as a normal DTS (as you know - only the core played). Guessing there's just a bad spot in the track if switching tracks worked.

And yes, if your hardware supports it HD audio is coming soon.

Mine are not samples. They are movies I ripped. They do play as DTS but after awhile all audio cuts out. I'll try switching movies, or listen for the typical menu sounds but my receiver no longer receives a signal. I have to reboot to restore sound.

However I have updated ubuntu to 12.04 and it seems that the problem is resolved.

Living Room: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | Atom D525 | ATI HD 5430 | Gotham | VIZIO XVT553SV | Yamaha RX-V665 | Harmony One | 7.1 Polk Surround
Den: Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | ION 330HT | Gotham | VIZIO E370VA
NAS: WHS 2011 | 20TB on DrivePool | MySQL DB (XBMC) | Subsonic
find quote