[RELEASE] Digitally Imported XBMC addon (Updated 24th August 2014 : V3.0.5)

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bitcrusher01 Offline
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 5
Location: Denmark
Rainbow  [RELEASE] Digitally Imported XBMC addon (Updated 24th August 2014 : V3.0.5)
Post: #1
Another year - another rewrite Smile
I have again totally rewritten both my Digitally Imported and Sky.fm plugins

Features:
  • Multithreading - using 8 simultaneous threads that downloads coverart (if not already cached) and parses the playlists - a refresh now takes about 5-7 seconds
  • Cache expiration is now calculated in days and not minutes - default 7 days
  • When parsing playlists (on cache refresh) it selected a random server playing the stream each time
  • The option to open a playlist and select the streaming server you want - off by default

Heres the latest changelog entry:
+ New feature
* Improved/fixed feature
- Removed feature


24. August 2014 v3.0.5
* Fixed url for channel asset/graphics

29. June 2014 v3.0.4
* Channel description no longer available, using name instead

16. April 2014 v3.0.3
* Rewrote premium login to use api.audioaddict.com - Fixes recent premium login issues
Thanks to Vidar Waagbø for this fix


3. January 2014 v3.0.2
* Fixed file pathing for the config file as well - DOH!

1. January 2014 v3.0.1
* Cache file pathing on OSes not using *UNIX syntax (Windows)


31 December 2013 v3.0.0
+ Rewrote whole plugin
+ Threading of playlists parsing to speed up first run and refreshing of playlists - 8 threads
* Now fully support the new di.fm design
- Check-in with stats are gone for now


20 May 2013 v2.1.2
* Fixed problems related to new Digitally Imported webpage
Thanks to Vidar Waagbø for the regex patch


22 December 2012 v2.1.1
* Made 256k quality selectable from config (duh!)
* 256k is now default quality for Premium members


8 December 2012 v2.1.0
+ Added a 4th stream quality option for Premium members: 256k/sec MP3
+ Now using the config.ini file to hopefully streamline the process of updating the di.fm/sky.fm/jazzradio.com plugins
* Fixed it so UTF8 chars is handled correctly in channelnames
* Fixed a "miscalculation" that made it so when using favorites, the playlist being activated when clicking the channelname,
was actually the one belonging to the next channelname, etc.


30 Oct 2012 v2.0.0
+ Using JSON to get streams addresses instead of parsing the HTML for them
+ Added an indication of what quality the stream is, shown as i.e: 64 kb
* Complete rewrite of the codebase, making it more modular and generally awesomer
* Using Di.fms own JSON data to find streams, instead of parsing the HTML by RegEx
* Changed the highlight color of new channels from orange to blue, as the "currently playing" channel is orange in the default skin for Eden
* Changed default refresh rate from 360 (6 hours) to 720 hours (12 hours)
* Updated addons description

Thanks to DexN for making me aware of the JSON data and for being my willing guinea pig Wink

And now, screenshots!

Addon icon
[Image: difm-icon.png]

New settings with tabbed layout
[Image: digitally-imported-xbmc-new-settings.jpg]

Notification of new channels
[Image: digitally-imported-xbmc-new-streams-1.jpg]

Highlighting of new channels
[Image: screenshot000_1.jpg]

Playing AAC+ stream with channelart
[Image: digitally-imported-xbmc-playing-aac-stream.jpg]

Sourcecode
https://github.com/Bitcrusher/Digitally-...BMC-plugin

My website qualisoft.dk - horribly neglected!
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-13 18:04 by bitcrusher01.)
find quote
prodigy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Awesome! Thanks man.

Working great here. Premium on Win7x64+Eden.
find quote
wilson.joe Offline
Fan
Posts: 449
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 6
Location: Salem, Or
Post: #3
looking good.. Smile

In a world without walls and fences who needs windows and gates, open source, opens minds, so open yours today.

[Image: widget]
find quote
kachro Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
hello...i know it's way too off-topic but I noticed you have installed an add-on for sky.fm , where did you find it?

thanks! (sorry)
find quote
bitcrusher01 Offline
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 5
Location: Denmark
Post: #5
prodigy and wilson.joe: Good to hear Smile

kachro: Sky.fm is my next sideproject Wink
I've only just started on it, but it seems feasible to reuse much of the codestructure from the DI.fm plugin.
I have no estimated release on it right now, as I got another project that needs som attention as well.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-27 10:09 by bitcrusher01.)
find quote
kachro Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
thanks for the quick reply bitcrusher01. I took the liberty to download your add-on from your site and took a view at the code. I am not very familiar with python coding but I realized that sky.fm and di.fm are "sisters networks" so I figure the tweak for your add-on shouldn't be that massive. (I tried changing the BASE_URL but it didn't work....lolSmile).

Anyway, I'm gonna try to modify a few things in your files and see if I get lucky and can end up listen to sky.fm. Obviously if I do, I'll return you the favor and give you back your files, and of course, you will still have all the credit for the add-on man.

In the mean time I'll keep listening to the Ambient channel thanks to you ;=)

Isaac.-
find quote
bitcrusher01 Offline
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 5
Location: Denmark
Post: #7
Even though they are "sister networks" they work radically different (in my opinion).
DI.fm has links to .pls (playlist) files with mp3/aac streams, you can download and play in a player of your choice.
Sky.fm has a "Listen now" button, that envokes a new window with a flashplayer, playing a .flv file - even if you are a premium listener it seems.

I have an idea of a way to work around this - but I have yet to implement and try it out if it actually works.
find quote
kachro Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
oops, I didn't notice that...I think I'm gonna wait until you figure this out then...lolSmile

thanks
find quote
MasterCATZ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
I have a problem when it seems to try and stream every channel
then finally crashes

unless I pick the one at the bottom of the list

I am assuming for some reason it tries to play everything below what I pick ?

anyone else having this problem

using XBMC 11 on FreeBSD DI plugin 1.1.1
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-06 03:48 by MasterCATZ.)
find quote
bitcrusher01 Offline
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 5
Location: Denmark
Post: #10
MasterCATZ: Can you put your xbmc.log file on pastebin?
Hopefully it would give me a clue as to whats going wrong.
find quote
agent154 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Sky.fm has a feature where you can select what mode you want on the website. It does have a winamp compatible stream. It was a bit hard for me to find at first, but it's at http://www.sky.fm/settings .

Also, I don't know if something is wrong, but since the latest update, I'm not seeing ANY streams in my list. It says it found 40 when it did the scan, but all I see is the parent folder ("..") item. I've checked my username and password settings, i've uninstalled and reinstalled the addon, and I still get nothing.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-11 05:40 by agent154.)
find quote
bitcrusher01 Offline
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 5
Location: Denmark
Post: #12
agent154: Have you tried going to the addon settings, and enable "Force cache refresh" and see if that fixes it for you?.

About sky.fm, I'm very close to having a working version done, both with public and premium streams - I suspect it will only be AAC as well though.
And yes, those settings is hard to find - I didn't see them before you pointed them out.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 11:30 by bitcrusher01.)
find quote
agent154 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
I have forced the cache refresh and it was the same thing.

I did stumble upon something though. It seems to work if I turn off "Library Mode"... but I don't want to have to do that. Is this intended, or is it a bug? If I have library mode on, it won't show any channels.
find quote
bitcrusher01 Offline
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 5
Location: Denmark
Post: #14
I've just tried installing the plugin on XBMC Eden on Win7, and after adding some music to index, so that Library mode became available, I could still see the DI.fm streams in Library mode.
I have no idea why it's not working for you Undecided
Are you running Dharma or Eden?
Would someone else perhaps try it out and see if this is a recurring problem?
find quote
agent154 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
I'm using Eden. I'll try to delete my music cache and start over to see what happens.
find quote
Post Reply