HDMI menu audio problem

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Menion2k Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi guys
I've set up the audio of my Intel Atom + nVidia ION2 system (Sapphire HD2) following this istructions:

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW...,_or_GT240

Now I have passthrough audio ok, decoded audio ok, but no audio in xbmc menu
What should I check to start the investigation of the problem?
I have pulse-audio and ppa xbmc version 11.0 with pulse-audio support
Bye
find quote
Plaguester Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 262
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 7
Post: #2
Do you have sound in the desktop session working for the same user?

HTPC 1 - Zotac ZBOX ID80U | 4GB RAM | 64GB SSD | Openelec | Confluence
HTPC 2 - Zotac ZBOX ID41U | 4GB RAM | 60GB SSD | Openelec | Confluence
Server - unRAID Server | 3 x 2TB WD Green HDD, 1TB WD Black HDD (Cache) | Sabnzbd | CouchPotato | Sickbeard
find quote
Menion2k Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I don't have any windows manager, since (sorry to haven't stated it) I've used ubuntu minimal CD for the Linux base.
I'll try to test in CLI.
Shall I aim to pulseaudio enviroment, right? Anything special I should start from?
Bye
find quote
Menion2k Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Hi
It seems that the istructions are failing for the pulseaudio part, in syslog I read

Quote:Apr 25 09:57:55 MenionXBMC pulseaudio[1136]: [pulseaudio] module.c: Failed to load module "module-alsa-card" (argument: "device=hw:1,3"): initialization failed.

and then the module failed to load.
I've removed from /etc/pulse/default.pa the suggested line load-module module-alsa-sink device=hw:1,3 and now the daemon loads with udev probing.
This is the pacmd output

Quote:2 sink(s) available.
* index: 0
name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo>
driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
flags: HARDWARE HW_MUTE_CTRL HW_VOLUME_CTRL DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
state: SUSPENDED
suspend cause: IDLE
priority: 9959
volume: 0: 100% 1: 100%
0: 0.00 dB 1: 0.00 dB
balance 0.00
base volume: 100%
0.00 dB
volume steps: 65537
muted: no
current latency: 0.00 ms
max request: 0 KiB
max rewind: 0 KiB
monitor source: 0
sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
channel map: front-left,front-right
Stereo
used by: 0
linked by: 0
configured latency: 0.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 1999.82 ms
card: 0 <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_1b.0>
module: 4
properties:
alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
device.api = "alsa"
device.class = "sound"
alsa.class = "generic"
alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
alsa.name = "ALC662 rev1 Analog"
alsa.id = "ALC662 rev1 Analog"
alsa.subdevice = "0"
alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
alsa.device = "0"
alsa.card = "0"
alsa.card_name = "HDA Intel"
alsa.long_card_name = "HDA Intel at 0xfcff8000 irq 16"
alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:1b.0"
sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0"
device.bus = "pci"
device.vendor.id = "8086"
device.vendor.name = "Intel Corporation"
device.product.id = "27d8"
device.product.name = "N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller"
device.form_factor = "internal"
device.string = "front:0"
device.buffering.buffer_size = "352768"
device.buffering.fragment_size = "176384"
device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
device.profile.name = "analog-stereo"
device.profile.description = "Analog Stereo"
device.description = "Internal Audio Analog Stereo"
alsa.mixer_name = "Realtek ALC662 rev1"
alsa.components = "HDA:10ec0662,1b0a0111,00100101"
module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
ports:
analog-output: Analog Output (priority 9900, available: unknown)
active port: <analog-output>
index: 1
name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_04_00.1.hdmi-stereo>
driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
flags: HARDWARE DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
state: SUSPENDED
suspend cause: IDLE
priority: 9050
volume: 0: 100% 1: 100%
0: 0.00 dB 1: 0.00 dB
balance 0.00
base volume: 100%
0.00 dB
volume steps: 65537
muted: no
current latency: 0.00 ms
max request: 0 KiB
max rewind: 0 KiB
monitor source: 2
sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
channel map: front-left,front-right
Stereo
used by: 0
linked by: 0
configured latency: 0.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 1999.82 ms
card: 1 <alsa_card.pci-0000_04_00.1>
module: 5
properties:
alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
device.api = "alsa"
device.class = "sound"
alsa.class = "generic"
alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
alsa.name = "HDMI 0"
alsa.id = "HDMI 0"
alsa.subdevice = "0"
alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
alsa.device = "3"
alsa.card = "1"
alsa.card_name = "HDA NVidia"
alsa.long_card_name = "HDA NVidia at 0xfebfc000 irq 17"
alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
device.bus_path = "pci-0000:04:00.1"
sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.0/0000:04:00.1/sound/card1"
device.bus = "pci"
device.vendor.id = "10de"
device.vendor.name = "nVidia Corporation"
device.product.id = "0be3"
device.product.name = "High Definition Audio Controller"
device.string = "hdmi:1"
device.buffering.buffer_size = "352768"
device.buffering.fragment_size = "176384"
device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
device.profile.name = "hdmi-stereo"
device.profile.description = "Digital Stereo (HDMI)"
device.description = "High Definition Audio Controller Digital Stereo (HDMI)"
alsa.mixer_name = "Nvidia GPU 0b HDMI/DP"
alsa.components = "HDA:10de000b,10de0101,00100200"
module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
ports:
HDMI: HDMI (priority 0, available: no)
active port: <HDMI>

it seems that pulseaudio wants to load module-alsa-card instead. However I did some test with alsa.
I get some problem in having the output, even in analog. For example "speaker-test" gives me the following:

ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1018:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
Errore di riproduzione: -2,File o directory non esistente

So I started again from aplay -l

Quote:**** Lista di PLAYBACK dispositivi hardware ****
scheda 0: Intel [HDA Intel], dispositivo 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
Sottoperiferiche: 1/1
Sottoperiferica #0: subdevice #0
scheda 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], dispositivo 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Sottoperiferiche: 1/1
Sottoperiferica #0: subdevice #0
scheda 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], dispositivo 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Sottoperiferiche: 1/1
Sottoperiferica #0: subdevice #0
scheda 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], dispositivo 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Sottoperiferiche: 1/1
Sottoperiferica #0: subdevice #0
scheda 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], dispositivo 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Sottoperiferiche: 1/1
Sottoperiferica #0: subdevice #0

Sorry for the italian, but it says that the nVidia HDA is the board 1, with devices 0,3,5,7,9
So I modified the asound.conf like this

pcm.!default {
type plug
slave {
pcm "hw:1,3"
rate 48000
}
}

Still no sound. Then I played around with speaker-test -Dplughw:1,x, with x=0,3,5,7,9 and I've endup in the fact that I had output with 9!!!!
So I set 9 in the asound.conf and I got sound! There is another thing, that it's really obscure to me: why for the video playback I have to stay with device 3Confused? If I set it to 9 I get "unable to open device", I guess because pulseaudio owns it.
By the way: solved!
find quote