Change platform from Windows 7 to XBMCbuntu
Hi,

I am currently running XBMC 11 Eden on Windows 7 HP 64bit.
My original intent was to use it for more than just XBMC, and support for the E350 APU on linux wasn't great at the time I set it up.
However I use it for XBMC almost exclusively, except for a little web browsing.

I want to move to XBMCbuntu, but I want to do it with as little downtime as possible, and with keeping my library intact.

What steps do I need to take to keep everything as it is (as far as possible)?

My setup is this:

HW:
ASUS E35M1-I Deluxe
32GB Transcend SSD (system)
1.5TB Samsung HDD (storage)
Logitech Harmony 650
4GB Kingston RAM

SW:
Windows 7 HP 64bit
EventGhost (for managing XBMC always on top and autostart of scripts to fix MCE start button.)
SickBeard
Sabnzbd+
FileZilla FTP Server
Restart-on-crash (for the times XBMC freeze up on me)
uTorrent (not much used since I got Usenet)
I'm a XBMC newbie, but what I heart/read is, that it only under Windows 7 possible
to run HD Audio DTS Master/HD and/or True HD.
I'm not sure if this is possible under XBMCbuntu in comparison to Windows 7.
My setup is with analoge stereo speakers, so HD audio is not really needed.

It's possible I might just run XBMCbuntu to see if I can make it work.
Sorry for the off topic, what do you do to make restart on crash?
Everything you have listed is possible with Linux.. I think your biggest issue will be ati graphics - ati's Linux drivers have always sucked (this may have changed but I wouldn't count on it) and ati video decoding isn't as feature rich or stable and nvidias offerings.

Anyways for FTP you can use the ssftp server that is built into the openssh server program. There is also vsftpd, but why install extra programs when openssh does the same (plus openssh enables remote terminal access which is used a lot).

Couch potato, sick beard and headphones (plus sabnzbd) all work fine under Linux.