iPad 2 metadata
Firstly may I say a huge thank you to the many people contributing to this forum. Without them I would have been truly lost in setting up my fileshare for XBMC on my ipad in the first place.

I followed the guide exactly and after some work, managed to access the files on the network on my ipad via smb. Although I already have XBMC on the laptop, with all the metadata, for some reason I am unable to access this functionality on the ipad. Although I can see and play the files, I'm assuming that for some reason I can't access the metadata.

It should be noted that I'm pretty new to all of this, so it's likely that I missed something. From the research I've done, the metadata isn't accessible via upnp (tbh I have no idea what these protocols are, I simply follow guides) but how this differs to smb is unknown to me. I don't intend to sync all devices via sql, but I would like to access the metadata information (e.g fanart synopsis etc) on the ipad version of xbmc. If anybody knows how, do let me know, otherwise many thanks for helping me getting it all up and running: The streaming functionality is significantly better than many of the paid for apps that do a similar function, but require far more installation files on the pc/laptop so it's still my go to player-even if it isn't as pretty as my laptop version Smile

tldr: need help with accessing metadata. I'm a techno noob. I have metadata for xbmc on the laptop version.
Most of the metadata you're probably looking for is the stuff that's scraped when loading your media files into your library.

Sounds like you have your sources setup and can access them in file mode, but you'll need to set the content on your sources and load them into your library. Check out the Video Library (wiki) wiki. You'll want to pay attention to the steps about Setting the Content (e.g. TV Shows vs Movies) and Scanning.