SSD choise

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
scrolling Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #1
I'm looking to speed up my HTPC. I've done all of the SSD Optimization set as listed in eskro's how to guide accept TRIM because the SSD that I currently have doesn't support it (It was a hand me down). So I've been looking around and narrowed it down to either the Patriot Torqx 2 or the OCZ Agility 3. I'm leaning towards the OCZ Agility 3.
It seems like the Patriot Torqx 2 is favored here and there are a few users here using the OCZ Agility 3. The reviews on Newegg seems to be a mixed bag there are those who either like the drives or hate them. So I guess I'm here to get some more feed back from the committee about either of these drives or other options.

HTPC: Apex MI-008 | Foxconn H67S | Celeron G530 | G.SKILL 4GB | Crucial 64 SSD| Arctic Cooling | PicoPSU-160-XT
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,479
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #2
Patriot Torqx 2 are reliable, i'd buy them no questions asked over any OCZ SSD
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,227
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #3
Loving my Torqx 2..... it's been performing well... 20 Sec boot...
find quote
Driver 944 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 3
Post: #4
You are comparing a 32GB SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) to a 60GB SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) drive.

If your board supports SATA II
32GB - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...32GS25SSDR
64GB - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6820220581

If you board supports SATA III
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as..._-20148441

OCZ isn't the problem, it's the SandForce controllers they use that may give problems.
http://www.overclock.net/t/1240697/ocz-a...mes-doa/10
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/426?vs=402
find quote
Spyderturbo007 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #5
I have two OCZ SSD's and haven't had a problem with either one of them. I have a 60GB in my office computer as the boot drive along with a 40GB in the HTPC. Both have been running for about a year with no issues or discernible slow down.
find quote
scrolling Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #6
Thanks everyone for you replies.


(2012-04-30 09:20)Driver 944 Wrote:  You are comparing a 32GB SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) to a 60GB SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) drive.

If your board supports SATA II
32GB - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...32GS25SSDR
64GB - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6820220581

If you board supports SATA III
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as..._-20148441

OCZ isn't the problem, it's the SandForce controllers they use that may give problems.
http://www.overclock.net/t/1240697/ocz-a...mes-doa/10
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/426?vs=402

Thanks for the links it's more food for thought. My board does support SATA III and that's why I was leaning towards the OCZ drive. But at the same time I didn't want something that was going to crap out in a few months or so, Hence the Patriot. This Crucial M4 SSD you're recommending appears to be the best of both worlds. I will definitely look more into this.

HTPC: Apex MI-008 | Foxconn H67S | Celeron G530 | G.SKILL 4GB | Crucial 64 SSD| Arctic Cooling | PicoPSU-160-XT
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,479
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #7
oh yeah, Crucial M4 are gold!!
find quote
scrolling Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #8
I've decided to get the Crucial M4 it's more expansive but I think the extra cost will be worth it.

HTPC: Apex MI-008 | Foxconn H67S | Celeron G530 | G.SKILL 4GB | Crucial 64 SSD| Arctic Cooling | PicoPSU-160-XT
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,479
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 197
Post: #9
FTW scrolling !!
find quote
Driver 944 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 3
Post: #10
A few more thoughts -

Do a fresh install, do not restore or clone your existing drive.

Check for firmware updates - http://www.crucial.com/support/firmware.aspx

Make a back up of your drive.

Keep us posted with your results, or if you have time give us a review.
find quote
scrolling Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #11
Thanks for the heads up and additional information.

HTPC: Apex MI-008 | Foxconn H67S | Celeron G530 | G.SKILL 4GB | Crucial 64 SSD| Arctic Cooling | PicoPSU-160-XT
find quote
scrolling Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #12
(2012-04-30 22:46)Driver 944 Wrote:  Keep us posted with your results, or if you have time give us a review.

OK. I got my new Crucial M4 SSD and installed it. The goal here was to speed up my boot time and that was achieved. Initially my boot up time was about 50 seconds even with the optimization tips listed here and here by eskro I also, searched on the web and found another tweak for speeding things up now I’ve got it down to about 15 seconds on average.

Change the Number of Processors Used at Boot Up
http://windows7forums.com/windows-7-supp...s-7-a.html

I did several timing test using Boot Timer and found that it varied some where between 17 and 13 seconds. Those times where derived from the boot timer while it restarted my htpc. All in all I’m pleased with its performance and didn’t have any issues with it what so ever.

[Image: timez.jpg]

Capisaty wise the drive is bigger than I need but for this particular model this is the smallest SSD crucial offers. So I have a lot of empty space. My total install size is around 17GB and I'm still looking for ways to reduce it even more.

If I were asked if I would recommend this drive. Deninetly I would strongly recommend this SSD to anyone.

HTPC: Apex MI-008 | Foxconn H67S | Celeron G530 | G.SKILL 4GB | Crucial 64 SSD| Arctic Cooling | PicoPSU-160-XT
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,227
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #13
I tried this it did not work....
find quote
Driver 944 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 3
Post: #14
Very impressive. Did you check for a firmware update? - http://www.crucial.com/support/firmware.aspx

If you haven't done this -
Install CCleaner and run the Registry Cleaner http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download

Before you go to bed, Log Off your computer and don't touch it till you get home from work the following day.
That will give the controller time for Trim and Garbage Collection to work.
It may (or may not) shorten the boot time. I do this once a month just to keep things clean..
find quote
scrolling Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 4
Post: #15
(2012-05-08 12:59)Driver 944 Wrote:  Very impressive. Did you check for a firmware update? - http://www.crucial.com/support/firmware.aspx

If you haven't done this -
Install CCleaner and run the Registry Cleaner http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download

Before you go to bed, Log Off your computer and don't touch it till you get home from work the following day.
That will give the controller time for Trim and Garbage Collection to work.
It may (or may not) shorten the boot time. I do this once a month just to keep things clean..

No for got to up date the firmware. I'm going to have to do that. I'm going to try that CCleaner. Thanks for the tip.

HTPC: Apex MI-008 | Foxconn H67S | Celeron G530 | G.SKILL 4GB | Crucial 64 SSD| Arctic Cooling | PicoPSU-160-XT
find quote
Post Reply