Linux [BUILD GUIDE]-[NAS][WIN7][OpenMediaVault v0.3] n00b friendly!
Lightbulb 
Under Construction

Just letting everyone know, I haven't given up hope, I haven't abandoned the project, I'm just trying to get this build guide perfect. Shouldn't be too long now!

Hi XBMC Forum,

This is a build thread that I'm starting to follow-on from my original thread 'Help a N00b'. I'll start off by saying that I'm not actually a n00b, I'm a Windows Systems Engineer by trade, however, for HTPC and XBMC related things, I consider myself one as I need my hand held and advice from wiser, more seasoned users. Tongue

I will be putting together a comprehensive build guide after my system is complete. The full guide will include;
  • NAS Build
  • OS Installation and Configuration (OpenMediaVault v0.3)
  • Networking/File Sharing with Windows 7 machines
  • .torrent automation
  • Connection to Home Theatre components; Apple TV, Xbox etc.

Please stand by as this is VERY much UNDER CONSTRUCTION - please subscribe to the thread if you'd like, to see the progress and give me tips on what I can further include to help this thread and build guide become a sticky thread and to also help new users to the HTPC world.

Cheers,

Tonka
Thinking about converting my old DELL desktop to a NAS/Ubuntu server so looking forward to this Smile
Linux Mint: XBMC PVR Xvba
HTPC: AMD Fusion A8-3870k. ASRock A75 Pro4-M. 4GB DDR3. Intel 320 SSD 40GB . Silverstone ML03
Well XtuX - I'm putting it all together tonight, so in 12-15 hours, I should be busy writing away and doing my part to ASSIST ALL THE USERS!!! Best Meme
Ok - Just letting the thread know, I'm writing the document today and should have it up ASAP.

Should I put it up as a downloadable .pdf file or plain text in a post?
I'd prefer plain text in a post personally.
HTPC 1 - AMD A8-3870K, ASRock A75M, Silverstone ML03B, Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR3 1866, Crucial M4 64GB SSD
HTPC 2 - HP Stream Mini, 6GB Ram