Linux - [SOLVED] Mounting NFS Share

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
eddible Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hey all,
I am having a nightmare trying to get my NFS share mounted in XBMCbuntu.

My NFS server is on my Drobo and works perfectly with my Mac, I mount it using this command:

nfs://10.0.1.33/mnt/DroboFS/Shares

And it mounts all the available shares on my Drobo, easy. When I run the same command on XBMC, it states it cannot connect. I ran the logs and got this:

Quote:17:26:34 T:12704048 ERROR: Failed to open(//) opendir call failed with "NFS: READDIR of // failed with NFS3ERR_NOTSUPP(-22)"
17:26:34 T:12704048 ERROR: GetDirectory - Error getting nfs://10.0.1.33/mnt/DroboFS/Shares

I've googled it but I can't find anything useful about what error 22 actually refers to, or what is "not supported" as the error suggests. My exports file on the Drobo looks like this:

Code:
/mnt/DroboFS/Shares 10.0.1.0/24(rw,all_squash,insecure)

The XBMC box is running on IP address 10.0.1.39 and is definitely on the same subnet as everything else. All the settings match up fine with those on my Mac that connects to the share without issue.

Can anyone see where I'm going wrong here?
Thanks!
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-02 00:55 by eddible.)
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,143
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #2
post a full log via pastebin with debugging turned on.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
eddible Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
http://pastebin.com/yFirAck2
find quote
eddible Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Bump! Any ideas?
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,143
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #5
no clue - check that portmap is running on the server and have a look in the server logs about any nfs connection errors.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
eddible Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I was worried that might be the answer. I just managed to mount it from the terminal using autofs so I may just use that instead. I'll post back if I get it working either way.
find quote
eddible Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
For anyone interested, I used this guide to set up autofs through the terminal:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Autofs

Then I just added the Mount points as sources in XBMC and it plays back flawlessly. For those with a Drobo FS, there's a great guide on setting up the NFS droboapp here:

http://obasandbox.wordpress.com/2010/07/...r-the-mac/

On a side note, my boxee box detected the NFS share automatically so it could be a bug in XBMC or potentially the Drobo NFS implementation just isn't compatible with XBMC. Either way, the autofs route works just as well.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,143
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: germany
Post: #8
I bet boxee got the nfs code from us Wink

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
eddible Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Haha, it wouldn't surprise me.
find quote