BBC iPlayer HD stream corruption

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
dabeeeenster Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

I'm getting green artefacting when trying to play HD iPlayer streams using the iplayer addon. Logs are here: https://gist.github.com/2570195 . This is on a Revo R3610 Ubuntu 12 XBMC 11 Git compiled Apr 24 2012.

Any ideas? This thread http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1091813 suggests it's fixed but I'm not having any luck.

Thanks
find quote
BlueCop Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,430
Joined: May 2004
Reputation: 71
Post: #2
dabeeeenster: i have seen this corruption before with VDPAU acceleration on an ION chipsets. It doesn't happen with Eden for me though. Does disabling hardware acceleration fix it?

In Eden it seems to switch to non-accellerated if VDPAU can't decode it correctly. This can be a problem for slightly mis-sized 1080p videos I stream that have some black border pixels cropped before encoding. It ends up being a width or height that isn't a multiple of 8 or 16. i forget which. VDPAU doesn't handled these properly.. Mine can't handle anything over 720p non-accelerated on my dual core atom.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-01 22:12 by BlueCop.)
find quote
dabeeeenster Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Curious. If I disable hardware acceleration I dont get the artefacting. I wonder how they fixed it in the other thread? Is it a newer/patched build of XBMC?
find quote
dabeeeenster Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I downloaded a couple of HD programs using the get_iPlayer script and tried playing them back with acceleration enabled, and the artefacting is still there, it's definitely the type of file, rather than the streaming aspect that is causing the artefacting.

Other than disabling hardware acceleration is there anything I can do to try and fix this?
find quote
gott_sei_dank Offline
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Try upgrading your video card drivers.
find quote
dabeeeenster Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Curiously I removed XBMC and installed through a different PPA and this problem has gone away, so it must have made it into the codebase somewhere...
find quote
indication_only Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
I have the same problem. What PPA did you use to solve it?
find quote
dabeeeenster Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
I think this one but not 100% sure

https://launchpad.net/~nathan-renniewald...bmc-stable
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-16 16:07 by dabeeeenster.)
find quote
indication_only Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
That seems to have done the trick.

Many thanks!
find quote