scraper does not work with upnp device but...

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
w1n78 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Question  scraper does not work with upnp device but...
Post: #1
hi all, i've added movies from a upnp device and tried to use the scraper to get the movie info. it doesn't work. so i did a test and mapped the same folder from my NAS on my windows machine and added it. the scraper works. so i'm guessing scraper doesn't work with upnp devices? i've also tried this on OS X and XBMCbuntu as far as upnp but haven't tried mounting the folder locally and see if it works. am i wrong with my assumption? is there another way to access a folder on my NAS and have the scraper work?
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,221
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 178
Post: #2
Yes, UPnP + scanner == no go. UPnP is not a filesharing protocol. It is a media sharing protocol, thus comes with all the metadata, AND does not have stable URLs (i.e. the URLs cannot be stored for later access in a database).

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
w1n78 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
(2012-05-02 06:28)jmarshall Wrote:  Yes, UPnP + scanner == no go. UPnP is not a filesharing protocol. It is a media sharing protocol, thus comes with all the metadata, AND does not have stable URLs (i.e. the URLs cannot be stored for later access in a database).

thanks, so what is the suggested way of accessing a folder in my NAS? for windows mapping the drive and for all others mounting?
find quote
jhsrennie Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 7,248
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 119
Location: Chester, UK
Post: #4
(2012-05-02 06:30)w1n78 Wrote:  thanks, so what is the suggested way of accessing a folder in my NAS? for windows mapping the drive and for all others mounting?

When you are adding the source click the Browse button, scroll the list down and choose "Add network location". Set the location type to SMB and type in the server name and share name. When you click Ok you'll see the source in the list as smb://servername/sharename/. Select this share and click OK. This method of defining shares works on all operating systems, and it's the most resistant to errors like servers going to sleep or network drives not reconnecting.
find quote
w1n78 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
(2012-05-02 11:02)jhsrennie Wrote:  When you are adding the source click the Browse button, scroll the list down and choose "Add network location". Set the location type to SMB and type in the server name and share name. When you click Ok you'll see the source in the list as smb://servername/sharename/. Select this share and click OK. This method of defining shares works on all operating systems, and it's the most resistant to errors like servers going to sleep or network drives not reconnecting.

thanks
find quote