ANTEC ISK 300-65 HTPC A8-3820

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
MrKay Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #1
This build is gonna be used for htpc,light gaming and be very quite that's the plan.


Case: Antec ISK 300-65
APU: AMD A8-3820
Mobo: ASRock A75M ITX
Memory: Kingston HyperX PnP 4GB 1866 MHz
SSD: Crucial M4 64GB SATA III
CPU Cooler: Scythe Shuriken Rev. B 3 will be upgrading to Scythe BIG Shuriken Rev. 2B

Power Supply: PicoPSU 120-WI-25 with 135watts Fanless AC Adapter. But if any one goes for the same build as me please get a 120w brick 18.5V/6.5A adapter. Since i all ready have a 135watts brick 19V 7.1A it was ok but it's better to get the above

Wifi: TP-Link TL-WN822N
Remote: Unisen's iPazzPort Mini RF 2.4GHz Keyboard
Win 7/64 Ultimate


Will be needing help with the build. should have my APU,SSD in by tuesday


UPDATE: The PicoPSU 120-WI-25 works with the AMD A8-3820

Thanks goes out to

Beer40oz,bluray,Dougie Fresh,eskro and all other members that helped me.

If u want to build a amd apu a6 3500 or any other apu please check out this link of Beer40oz

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=128009

If u want to build a htpc or SSD Optimization just about everything u need to know please check out these link's of eskro

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=94199

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=95334

If u want to know anything about a intel build or just about anything else please ask bluray

If u want to know about any thing about PicoPSU Dougie Fresh the man

O yeah i forgot to say if u buy this case just break the psu that comes with it cause it is totally crap. Probably work with them old dual cores lol
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-17 00:52 by MrKay.)
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #2
Wow! nice bro.... remember to install the RAM first.... have the mobo out install the ram... the the aPU, the add the paste (small pea size in the center ..youtube) then get the shuriken on top and clip on the sides......

Take a quick look at all.... get a game plan and install.....

we are here for help....

Smile
find quote
MrKay Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #3
Thank you so much beer. All thanks goes out to you,eskro,blu for helping me. Without your thread and eskro thread this would not have been possible. I saw a youtube vid of putting the paste on but he doesn't cover the whole top of the apu.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ow3rAyWCIE

Should i do it like this video. Plus i saw another video how to put the cpu cooler

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bYAKgbyWCBM

This is the first time so i dont no where to plug all these cables to. I have a ruff idea tho From the picture you have. Will look at the booklet
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-04 19:06 by MrKay.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #4
(2012-05-04 19:00)MrKay Wrote:  Thank you so much beer. All thanks goes out to you,eskro,blu for helping me. Without your thread and eskro thread this would not have been possible.

Thats what i like to hear Smile

LIke Beer40 said,
you need to install as much as you can while the mobo is out of the case.

Make sure to 'demagnetize yourself'
then install RAM / APU / THERMAL PASTE / COOLER

for thermal paste, cant go wrong by following how this guy does
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fRRWbQUqW1Y

dont be afraid to use youtube, you'll learn alot!
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-04 19:18 by eskro.)
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #5
yes.... peasize

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EyXLu1Ms-q4 best video ever...

is the best method .....

once I did apply too much more then a pea and it went all over the sides.... that was when I was learning ....
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-04 19:27 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
MrKay Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #6
Thanks eskro for the video link. So i just put a bit on the middle like a dot then just stick the cpu cooler and that should do the job. Rather then covering the whole apu with paste. The cooler came with paste and the guy sending me the apu is sending it with paste as well. do you have to use like Arctic Silver 5 or can anything do the job
You can learn so much from youtube
I have been looking at eskro's thread how to optimize ssd boot drive.

Before Installing your O/S, Follow these:
--------------------------------------
a) Secure Erase your SSD using PartedMagic --> Tutorial
b) Make sure you enable AHCI in your BIOS if available --> Screen Shot
c) Install O/S.


If your O/S is Windows, follow these to Optimize your SSD:
--------------------------------------------------------
01. Confirm Trim is Enabled
02. Disable Hibernation
03. Disable Disk Defragmenter Service
04. Disable SuperFetch Service
05. Disable Windows Defender service
06. Disable Windows Search Service
07. Disable System Restore + Delete All System Restore Points
08. Disable Thumbnail Cache File Creation + Delete All Thumbs.db Files
09. Using a Windows Solid Color as Wallpaper? If so, Follow this Fix!! (Credit to Beer40oz)
10. Disable Windows Logo Animation during boot ups
11. Disable Page File (System Needs at Least 4GB's of RAM)

So do i secure erase my SSD using PartedMagic. Even tho this will be a brand new ssd?
or do i skip that bit. And i do all this in the BIOS
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-04 19:37 by MrKay.)
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,271
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #7
(2012-05-04 19:26)MrKay Wrote:  So i just put a bit on the middle like a dot then just stick the cpu cooler and that should do the job.
The idea behind it is that- it'll spread out evenly from the middle when you put pressure on the headsink......

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #8
yes, use pea size method.
again, less is better..
too much is not good for thermal transfer.

if u have Arctic Silver 5 at hand, well yeah, use that.
if not, stock thermal paste will do the job.
dont go crazy about it.

about the SSD, follow what i said meaning, yes,
i do suggest you Secure Erase your SSD using PartedMagic ;P
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,271
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #9
(2012-05-04 19:00)MrKay Wrote:  This is the first time so i dont no where to plug all these cables to. I have a ruff idea tho From the picture you have. Will look at the booklet
AsRock quick installation guide is your best friend- Quick Installation Guide

Just take your time, you'll be fine.....

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
MrKay Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #10
Thanks guy's.
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,474
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 195
Post: #11
again,
Make sure to 'demagnetize yourself'
then install RAM / APU / THERMAL PASTE / COOLER
(dont be afraid of youtube'ing if needed)

remove the drive cage from isk300-65 case

then, install I/O Shield Plate (comes with your motherboard) on your Case.

place your motherboard standoffs so you can place the motherboard on them.

now, place your motherboard inside your case and secure it (4 screws only).
find quote
MrKay Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #12
I have download some drivers from http://www.asrock.com/mb/download.asp?Mo...X&o=Win764

the only 2 drivers i have not downloaded was SATA RAID Driver and SATA RAID Utility ver:3.3.1540.5 and also downloaded all the Utility drivers as well. Do i need to install all of them or do the motherboard come installed with these drives all ready
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #13
All i have on mine is:

7/25/2011 Windows 7 64bit
52.35MB AMD all in 1 driver ver:8.86RC2

7/25/2011 Windows 7 64bit
5.50MB Realtek Lan driver ver:7.044


Because I only use the HDMI audio out....

go to my build page.... you need the Catylast driver..... oh here
http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/P...loads.aspx

that is for the graphics....


you dont need the SATA RAID.... all its included on the all in one driver
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-04 20:04 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,271
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #14
(2012-05-04 19:53)MrKay Wrote:  I have download some drivers from http://www.asrock.com/mb/download.asp?Mo...X&o=Win764

the only 2 drivers i have not downloaded was SATA RAID Driver and SATA RAID Utility ver:3.3.1540.5 and also downloaded all the Utility drivers as well. Do i need to install all of them or do the motherboard come installed with these drives all ready
The easiest way to install AMD latest driver is this autodetec option- AMD Driver Autodetect....

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-04 22:28 by bluray.)
find quote
MrKay Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #15
Now how do i go about installing the drivers. I mean once i put everything together and hit the power on button will i go straight to the bios. Plus should the usb that has these drivers on be formatted in fat 32 and also should i unzip the files as well
find quote
Post Reply