[Solved] Aeon Nox not seeing smart video playlists

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
.:B:. Offline
Fan
Posts: 349
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I have put together a smart playlist that I can access normally through the files/playlists overview. The playlist is populated so it works fine. However, when I try to activate one of the playlist items in the home menu, it pops up a dialog that looks like it should be containing available playlists, except that it's empty (besides an entry saying: "None" and that clicking it will reset the whole thing).

I thought it might be an issue with spaces in the file name, so i tried to rename the .xsp file that is in ~/.xbmc/playlists/video to something without spaces, but even after a reboot it's not found.

Is this broken functionality or am I trying to add a smart playlist to my home screen in the wrong way?

* Netgear WNDR3700, OpenWrt Attitude Adjustment 12.09.1 :: HP Procurve V1410-8G switch
* OpenELEC 4 b3: HTPC Zotac Nano AD10 with Pulse-Eight CEC adapter, Sony KDL52-NX800 :: Desktop Phenom II X4 980 BE / AMD HD6950 / 23" Dell Full HD
* Debian Jessie x86_64: Celeron G1610, HTTP/NFS/MySQL/ZFS server
* Blog
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 21:18 by .:B:..)
find quote
.:B:. Offline
Fan
Posts: 349
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Bump.

I can link a smart playlist to a button just fine in remote.xml, so it's not that I'm afraid of getting my hands dirty. Anyone?

* Netgear WNDR3700, OpenWrt Attitude Adjustment 12.09.1 :: HP Procurve V1410-8G switch
* OpenELEC 4 b3: HTPC Zotac Nano AD10 with Pulse-Eight CEC adapter, Sony KDL52-NX800 :: Desktop Phenom II X4 980 BE / AMD HD6950 / 23" Dell Full HD
* Debian Jessie x86_64: Celeron G1610, HTTP/NFS/MySQL/ZFS server
* Blog
find quote
.:B:. Offline
Fan
Posts: 349
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Bump.

* Netgear WNDR3700, OpenWrt Attitude Adjustment 12.09.1 :: HP Procurve V1410-8G switch
* OpenELEC 4 b3: HTPC Zotac Nano AD10 with Pulse-Eight CEC adapter, Sony KDL52-NX800 :: Desktop Phenom II X4 980 BE / AMD HD6950 / 23" Dell Full HD
* Debian Jessie x86_64: Celeron G1610, HTTP/NFS/MySQL/ZFS server
* Blog
find quote
defluo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #4
You might have more luck if you put this in the Aeon Nox forum

TV LG 50PJ350 50 inch HDTV
Receiver Sony STRDH520 7.1
HTPC 1 Custom built 8GB 64GB SSD 250GB SATA Win 7 x64, VRC 1100 remote, AMBX lighting HTPC 2 TV LG 32LK330U 32 inch HDTV HTPC eMachines ER1401 2GB RAM 250GB HDD Win 7 x64
Server Custom built 6GB RAM, 7.5TB total storage, Sickbeard, SABnzbd+, CouchPotato
XBMC Frodo, Aeon Nox 4
find quote
BigNoid Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 2,923
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 90
Location: Below sea level
Post: #5
maybe its a fault with the playlist script. You can always assign the playlist to your favorites and add that to the main menu.
find quote
rolapinou Offline
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I had quite the same problem on a friend's PC.
I manage to create smart playlist but when trying to make a shortcut on the main menu (Aeon Nox 2.0) I got a message telling "failure! script.playlist" or something like that.
I tried to reboot the PC, and got the same result.
I didn't understand as I managed to do the very same operation the day before.

How can I fix the playlist script ?

Thanks
find quote
.:B:. Offline
Fan
Posts: 349
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
(2012-05-08 15:51)Big_Noid Wrote:  maybe its a fault with the playlist script. You can always assign the playlist to your favorites and add that to the main menu.

Thanks. I added the playlist to my favourites, and the favourites are in my main menu. Is there somewhere I can find out what the issue is? When I go through the whole process I don't get any error messages. Spaces in the name of the playlist do not seem to play a role, it's not seen whether it has spaces or not in the name.

* Netgear WNDR3700, OpenWrt Attitude Adjustment 12.09.1 :: HP Procurve V1410-8G switch
* OpenELEC 4 b3: HTPC Zotac Nano AD10 with Pulse-Eight CEC adapter, Sony KDL52-NX800 :: Desktop Phenom II X4 980 BE / AMD HD6950 / 23" Dell Full HD
* Debian Jessie x86_64: Celeron G1610, HTTP/NFS/MySQL/ZFS server
* Blog
find quote
.:B:. Offline
Fan
Posts: 349
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Anyone?

* Netgear WNDR3700, OpenWrt Attitude Adjustment 12.09.1 :: HP Procurve V1410-8G switch
* OpenELEC 4 b3: HTPC Zotac Nano AD10 with Pulse-Eight CEC adapter, Sony KDL52-NX800 :: Desktop Phenom II X4 980 BE / AMD HD6950 / 23" Dell Full HD
* Debian Jessie x86_64: Celeron G1610, HTTP/NFS/MySQL/ZFS server
* Blog
find quote
phil65 Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 4,455
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 60
Location: Cologne, Germany
Post: #9
you didnĀ“t even try a clean installation, did you?
find quote
.:B:. Offline
Fan
Posts: 349
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Of my whole setup you mean, or of just aeon nox?

* Netgear WNDR3700, OpenWrt Attitude Adjustment 12.09.1 :: HP Procurve V1410-8G switch
* OpenELEC 4 b3: HTPC Zotac Nano AD10 with Pulse-Eight CEC adapter, Sony KDL52-NX800 :: Desktop Phenom II X4 980 BE / AMD HD6950 / 23" Dell Full HD
* Debian Jessie x86_64: Celeron G1610, HTTP/NFS/MySQL/ZFS server
* Blog
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team-XBMC
Posts: 10,303
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 154
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #11
(2012-05-12 18:48).:B:. Wrote:  Of my whole setup you mean, or of just aeon nox?

Whole setup.
If no one else is having this it must be your installation

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
.:B:. Offline
Fan
Posts: 349
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Well I guess I'll weigh the pro's and cons then. It took a while setting this up, I'd rather try to fix it than start from a clean slate again.

I appreciate everyone's input, but a reinstall is pretty much a Windows solution Wink.

Edit: Xbmc's log said it was looking for the favourites script, but that was not installed. Once I grabbed that the favourites showed up just fine Smile.

* Netgear WNDR3700, OpenWrt Attitude Adjustment 12.09.1 :: HP Procurve V1410-8G switch
* OpenELEC 4 b3: HTPC Zotac Nano AD10 with Pulse-Eight CEC adapter, Sony KDL52-NX800 :: Desktop Phenom II X4 980 BE / AMD HD6950 / 23" Dell Full HD
* Debian Jessie x86_64: Celeron G1610, HTTP/NFS/MySQL/ZFS server
* Blog
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 21:17 by .:B:..)
find quote
upD8R Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: Germany
Post: #13
(2012-05-12 21:03).:B:. Wrote:  Edit: Xbmc's log said it was looking for the favourites script, but that was not installed. Once I grabbed that the favourites showed up just fine Smile.
Hi,

could you pls briefly explain what script was missing and how did you manage to get it?

Thanks!

XBMC 12 & Aeon Nox 4 running on 3x Windows 7 x64
mySQL hosted on WHS 2011
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team-XBMC
Posts: 10,303
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 154
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #14
Install this one:
http://mirrors.xbmc.org/addons/eden/script.favourites/

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
upD8R Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: Germany
Post: #15
Ah, thanks indeed!

It seems my issue (cannot assign a smart playlist to a Video/VP1 submenu) has a diffierent cause. I use the built-in path substitution feature for the Playlist folder but this is not recognized in the skin.

After copying the playlist to the actual harddisk it works as expected.

XBMC 12 & Aeon Nox 4 running on 3x Windows 7 x64
mySQL hosted on WHS 2011
find quote
Post Reply