Linux xbmc freeze full screen - how to kill process?
Hello guys

Im pretty new to linux, its been a bit of an uphill battle, but the latest is that now I have a few add-ons which are prone to crashing, and have had 3 crashes this morning so far, I have not found a way to kill xbmc and restart it, I am having to cold reboot the computer, which isnt very good for it, Im sure...

i was rescanning my music database in the background, listening to KCRW eclectic 24 (fan-friggin-tastic to have on xbmc!!!) and then browsing some photos... and then the photo slide show went onto an mp4 video clip, and it froze.

X did not stop play after it froze,
ALT TAB does nothing (it seems because xbmc is full screen)
ALT-F4 does nothing

how does one force kill XBMC from a full screen crash, is there any way to bring up the system monitor to the front of a frozen XBMC using a keyboard command?

Thanks!
Mark.
Read this Post. http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=130723
(2012-05-06, 13:41)dave_allen77 Wrote: Read this Post. http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=130723

Hi there Dave,
Thanks I will try that... a bit of a pain having to enter code to kill a process though.
Is there a keyboard command to bring up the system monitor, like CTRL-SHIFT-EXC does on windows?
Im a bit allergic to codes, also I will never remember it, so next time it happens (later today) I will have to get back to this thread on another computer... unless I print it out now, yeah, Im gonna do that Wink

I will report back in a while, tx for the tip:

Press Control+Alt+F1, login, and enter the following:

Code:
ps aux | grep xbmc

Now look up the process id (the number right after the user name) and enter:

Code:
kill -9 "process id"
(without the quotations)

Go back to Ubuntu by going to Control+Alt+F8 (could be another F button)
(2012-05-06, 13:41)dave_allen77 Wrote: Read this Post. http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=130723