What direction should I go in?
Hey there,

I'm completely new to the scene. I just figured out SABnzbd/SB/CP, and wish to share the joy with my family, who has been denied some good TV and movies due to our location. I know there are guides, but I'm not sure what I should be aiming for.

What we have:

1080P Capable TV
5.1 System
Quad Core/1 TB storage Main Computer w/ SABnzbd/SB/CP working
Various other laptops
ZERO DISH OR LOCAL TV OR CABLE POSSIBLE
Internet w/ Wireless G. Cable Modem + router behind TV and soon to be location of XBMC/ATV3/NAS/whatever we decide here.

What I think I want:

-NAS w/ set it and forget it backup of all the computers (1.5 TB total data at most) and the ability to run SABnzbd/SB/CP and store media library (250 GB existing of photos/songs/home videos, but with SB/CP running need enough data to hold dozens of movies and TV series). PLEX media server to handle the library.

-A SEPARATE XBMC box OR stock Apple TV 3

I say a stock Apple TV 3 because I'm not sure if my family can pick up XBMC without me. I plan to make this as easy and stable as possible. I am unable to babysit and tinker after this month. Please educate me on this.

Questions

Should I just get a Revo with XBMC, set the main PC to always on, run a gigabit wire to the Revo and let it go?

Should I get an HTPC with XBMC with NAS capabilities?

Should I get a NAS with XBMC or ATV3?

If I do get a separate NAS with XBMC or ATV3, should I build the NAS with transcoding ability (dual core, etc)? I am assuming an ATV3 will definitely need transcoding and thus will prove more expensive in the long run in building the NAS.

How much storage do you think I need? I see 6 drive unRAID boxes with ~3 TB. Good idea? Overkill?

Thank you.

My first thought would be for you to build a new machine for XBMC with some extra storage in it. You could go here and see what you may think you want or need.

The main points I read are: