Zotac AD10 or AD11-PLUS

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #1
Anyone here has one?

Looks like a neat little box.

Maybe it has been asked before.....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6856173039

Sorry can't find no one.....

Thank you.
Or has anyone got a change to test out XBMC on the AD10?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6856173030

Zotac ZBOXNANO-AD10-PLUS
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-10 07:19 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
lagledavid Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 2
Location: Las Vegs
Post: #2
seems kind of pricey we can do better for less

My HTPC AMD A8-3870K CPU/ SilverStone ML03B/ASRock MB-A75M /Seasonic SS-400ET/Corsair XMS3 4GB
find quote
romasi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I've been looking at these for a couple months. The non-plus versions (without memory and hard drive) were selling for around $150 on sale. The only reason I did not pursue it were the comments about noise. I read on one review a concern about a small cheap fan that could get noisy. And then there were other reviews that the fan was loud enough to hear. I was hoping this was a bedroom alternative to the apple tv, but decided not to take the risk.
find quote
baluba Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
(2012-05-10 07:14)Beer40oz Wrote:  Anyone here has one?

Looks like a neat little box.

Maybe it has been asked before.....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6856173039

Sorry can't find no one.....

Thank you.
Or has anyone got a change to test out XBMC on the AD10?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6856173030

Zotac ZBOXNANO-AD10-PLUS

This should be better Zotac ZBOXNANO-ID61

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...8&Tpk=id61

Waiting for the non plus version, should be under $250. The CPU on this is way better, and Intel GPU has better support. I think AMD only advantage is for HDMI 1.4 ( 3D ?), which I don't care about. Celeron 867 should be able to do Netflix HD no way for AMD ( Netflix uses Silverlight which can not be accelerated for protected content).
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-11 03:05 by baluba.)
find quote
larock0wns Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
I have the AD10 running XBMC on Win7. It works perfectly. Plays 1080p just fine. I stream from a NAS, hard wired. Remote works perfect. I can't comment on Netflix as I don't have an account, but I hear it has issues.. but I can't verify or deny that.

As far as wireless, I wouldn't recommend it, but I don't any media player that can stream 1080p over wireless

I suggest getting the Non-Plus since you can put in better hardware for the less the cost of the plus.

Let me know if you have any other questions, and I'll try answer them.
find quote
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 881
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 22
Post: #6
(2012-05-12 00:33)larock0wns Wrote:  I have the AD10 running XBMC on Win7. It works perfectly. Plays 1080p just fine. I stream from a NAS, hard wired. Remote works perfect. I can't comment on Netflix as I don't have an account, but I hear it has issues.. but I can't verify or deny that.

As far as wireless, I wouldn't recommend it, but I don't any media player that can stream 1080p over wireless

I suggest getting the Non-Plus since you can put in better hardware for the less the cost of the plus.

Let me know if you have any other questions, and I'll try answer them.

What do you think of the noise?
find quote
larock0wns Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
If I pause a movie and listen real close, I can barely hear the fan. This is having the Zotac about 12 feet away in a 12x12 room with no other background noise (ie fan, refrigerator, etc). So unless you are really trying to hear the fan, or if you sit right next to the device, you won't hear it, especially if it's in a bigger room.
find quote
Calundann Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
(2012-05-11 03:01)baluba Wrote:  
(2012-05-10 07:14)Beer40oz Wrote:  Anyone here has one?

Looks like a neat little box.

Maybe it has been asked before.....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6856173039

Sorry can't find no one.....

Thank you.
Or has anyone got a change to test out XBMC on the AD10?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6856173030

Zotac ZBOXNANO-AD10-PLUS

This should be better Zotac ZBOXNANO-ID61

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...8&Tpk=id61

Waiting for the non plus version, should be under $250. The CPU on this is way better, and Intel GPU has better support. I think AMD only advantage is for HDMI 1.4 ( 3D ?), which I don't care about. Celeron 867 should be able to do Netflix HD no way for AMD ( Netflix uses Silverlight which can not be accelerated for protected content).

I have been considering that one too and would like to know if it can handle hi10p content?
find quote
larock0wns Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
I haven't seen any complaints on any Zotac not being able to handle high bit rate 1080p content, even older models. My guess is the ID61 will play everything fine.
find quote
fishypops Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: canada
Post: #10
OK. I have something to say about the Zotac AD10;
I have owned one since 09-2011.
It runs with an SSD. It is in my bedroom as my XBMC HTPC running Win8.
It is great for all video.
It is VERY noisy though. It is the big drawback. I have read that the AD11 is the same.
I love it, but can't recommend it as a bedroom HTPC.
find quote
Rishi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
(2012-05-18 02:12)fishypops Wrote:  OK. I have something to say about the Zotac AD10;
I have owned one since 09-2011.
It runs with an SSD. It is in my bedroom as my XBMC HTPC running Win8.
It is great for all video.
It is VERY noisy though. It is the big drawback. I have read that the AD11 is the same.
I love it, but can't recommend it as a bedroom HTPC.

I haven't had any noise issues with AD10; however, with the release of AE, am told AD10 will not be supported for HD Audio. Was basically hoping to play FLAC files from my HTPC without down-mixing. Seems AD10 will not help there Sad

[Image: watched-fanart.jpg]
find quote
ykhehra1 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 8
Post: #12
Is there any standalone XBMC version compatible with it which I can run for USBdrive or HDD without installing windows?

use +/- ⇓⇓⇓⇓⇓⇓⇓
find quote
Rishi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
(2012-06-17 20:43)ykhehra1 Wrote:  Is there any standalone XBMC version compatible with it which I can run for USBdrive or HDD without installing windows?

Try OpenElec. I use Version 1.95.3 on AD10 without any issues.

[Image: watched-fanart.jpg]
find quote
richardes Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
yeah
openelec + ad10/ad11 is amazing
find quote