First Time Customizing ATV1 & XBMC. Help!?
As you can see from this thread here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=130945
I'm brand new to ATV as of this week! However, I've been running XBMC on Xbox for about 3 years now. I'm also currently running XBMC on a Windows 7 laptop, which works perfectly. I do NOT have a Mac, which made the whole setup a little more complicated by I got through it. Smile

I'm proud to have gotten as far as I have in my initial setup, within one day's time. However, I've run into some snags and will probably continue to run into issues as long as I continue to customize things just the way I like. My goals is to completely replace my Xbox with the ATV 1st generation. I'm hoping for it to be a completely independent HTPC.

Setup:
-Hardware: ATV 1st gen. NO upgraded graphics card
-OS: I Used http://code.google.com/p/atvusb-creator/ as my operating system w/ (XBMC & BOXEE & SSH) installed
-Installed NitoTV to enable USB, followed instructions from here: http://www.todaywasawesome.com/enable-us...-apple-tv/

TWO PROBLEMS SO FAR...
(with my ATV1 setup)

1) My 2tb external hard drive (where all my media is) is plugged into the ATV's USB. The hard drive is formatted to NTFS. Supposedly it should just show up within XBMC. And it also should under the NitoTV "File" menu. The actual location it is supposed to show up under is /mnt/Scratch/Volumes/my hard drive. But it's not there.

Since it's not showing up automatically I've tried setting it up myself. Tried manually adding the source; Add source>Add network location>Protocol. From here, I don't know how to point it to the above "location" or what protocol to use?!

I did experiment with a jump drive, I formatted it to FAT32 (cause I read you're supposed to), and it DID show up in XBMC and within the OS X>NitoTV File menu. However, I don't want to reformat my hard drive to FAT32. I highly doubt FAT32 is what people meant when they say you can hook external hard drives to the ATV1, ...right?!