Linux - Harmony 700: Receiver recommendations

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jander Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hello everyone. I've just gotten my grubby mitts on a Harmony 700 and would like to whip it into use with XBMC. I would appreciate it immensely if you could give me your IR receiver recommendations Smile

TIA
find quote
cowfodder Offline
Fan
Posts: 388
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #2
Any cheap MCE remote and USB dongle should work.

[Image: watched-clearlogo.jpg]
find quote
jander Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Hi there, thanks for the reply Smile. I assume you mean MCE remote OR USB dongle?
find quote
matt77303 Offline
Fan
Posts: 359
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 6
Post: #4
I used the receiver from this

http://www.maplin.co.uk/media-centre-ir-remote-385365

Matt

CPU - AMD Athlon™ II X2 Dual-Core 3.4Ghz
MB - ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3, Nvidia 610 2GB
RAM - 4GB DDR3 Dual-Channel
OS - XBMC Frodo
TV - Panasonic TX-P50S21B
Home Cinema - Pioneer VSX-S300 5.1
Remote - Harmony one
find quote
Chris! Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,012
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 16
Location: England
Post: #5
I use Flirc with my harmony (flirc.tv)


Flirc now has a forum: forum.flirc.tv
find quote
jander Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
(2012-05-12 11:50)pseudo7 Wrote:  I use Flirc with my harmony (flirc.tv)

I leaning towards Flirc by a smidgeon..I assume it's still registered on the Harmony as an MCE?
(2012-05-12 11:46)matt77303 Wrote:  I used the receiver from this

http://www.maplin.co.uk/media-centre-ir-remote-385365

Matt

Hey Matt,

Nice to see Maplin still charges through the nose Smile
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 12:14 by jander.)
find quote
Chris! Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,012
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 16
Location: England
Post: #7
Quote:I leaning towards Flirc by a smidgeon..I assume it's still registered on the Harmony as an MCE?
No. MCE (and other Microsoft remotes) are the only ones it doesn't work with due to none standard frequencies.

I wrote a review which was on the front page for a while:
http://xbmc.org/natethomas/2012/04/15/fl...trol-xbmc/

Shame Flirc is o/s at the moment.


Flirc now has a forum: forum.flirc.tv
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 13:25 by Chris!.)
find quote
matt77303 Offline
Fan
Posts: 359
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 6
Post: #8
[/quote]

Hey Matt,

Nice to see Maplin still charges through the nose Smile
[/quote]

too true, but from memory it was cheaper when i bought it, and i had it there and then.

Matt

CPU - AMD Athlon™ II X2 Dual-Core 3.4Ghz
MB - ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3, Nvidia 610 2GB
RAM - 4GB DDR3 Dual-Channel
OS - XBMC Frodo
TV - Panasonic TX-P50S21B
Home Cinema - Pioneer VSX-S300 5.1
Remote - Harmony one
find quote
Plaguester Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 262
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 7
Post: #9
+1 for MCE receivers. They show up as keyboards to the computer, so they can control any application very easily.

HTPC 1 - Zotac ZBOX ID80U | 4GB RAM | 64GB SSD | Openelec | Confluence
HTPC 2 - Zotac ZBOX ID41U | 4GB RAM | 60GB SSD | Openelec | Confluence
Server - unRAID Server | 3 x 2TB WD Green HDD, 1TB WD Black HDD (Cache) | Sabnzbd | CouchPotato | Sickbeard
find quote
cowfodder Offline
Fan
Posts: 388
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #10
(2012-05-12 11:13)jander Wrote:  Hi there, thanks for the reply Smile. I assume you mean MCE remote OR USB dongle?

Yeah, the receiver from any MCE remote will work. I bought a cheap one from Newegg a while ago just for the receiver, and then programmed my Harmony 650 to control it.

[Image: watched-clearlogo.jpg]
find quote
jander Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Thanks for all the recommendations. A friend gave me an CiT Media Centre Remote which has an w-01RN. I saw an XMBC wiki stating it should work out of the box, but I've had not luck with it (and the Harmony 700, haven't tried the crappy remote that came with the receiver). Linux does detect it, but that's about it. Should I be spending any more time trying to make it work or just bite the bullet and go for a known-to-work MCE?
find quote
calev Offline
Fan
Posts: 462
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 8
Post: #12
I have tried for a long time to get odd ball remotes to work. MCE remotes just work. I would just get one. It will work for years to come.
find quote
jander Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Something like this ? --> http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/130509236749?s...1438.l2649
find quote