Linux - No sound - XBMC 12 Alpha2 200120511

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
BLKMGK Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,736
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 4
Location: USA Virginia
Post: #1
Okay, been seeing some major changes with the latest pulls from GIT but as of about 2-3 days ago all sound has disappeared. No navigation sounds, nothing from music, nothing via passthru to my receivers either. I can play from native Ubuntu (10.10 64bit up to date) without issue. This is occurring on two separate systems so it's not a configuration issue. I did see, judging from files I saw coming down, that the audio subsystem looked to be getting tweaked. Obviously this is Alpha so I'm not screaming too hard Angel but I'd love to get this working and help whoever is working on this subsystem troubleshoot. These are both Atom\ION setups if that helps.

Thoughts? Oh and I use HDMI sound via ALSA.

Openelec Gotham, MCE remote(s), Intel i3 NUC, DVDs fed from unRAID cataloged by DVD Profiler. HD-DVD encoded with Handbrake to x.264. Yamaha receiver(s)
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 01:41 by BLKMGK.)
find quote
drivesoslow Offline
Fan
Posts: 460
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #2
Mine is broke too. It looks like the AudioEngine branch was merged. If you look under System in Settings does it say no hardware found?
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 02:08 by drivesoslow.)
find quote
BLKMGK Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,736
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 4
Location: USA Virginia
Post: #3
I'm not sure where you're looking. I'm using the normal Confluence skin. Under system\System info I see nothing about audio hardware not being found. Likewise if I go into the sound area under settings I have the normal dropdown with HDMI etc. but I do also have an .asoundrc file kicking around.

Saw a small update a few minutes ago and am compiling on both machines again. If things come to life I'll post here but am "glad" I'm not the only one but am surprised I'm the first to post about it as it's been a day or three. I pretty much compile nightly....

Edit: FWIW if I could figure out how to roll backwards I'd be happy to do so in order to find which release broke things Sad

Openelec Gotham, MCE remote(s), Intel i3 NUC, DVDs fed from unRAID cataloged by DVD Profiler. HD-DVD encoded with Handbrake to x.264. Yamaha receiver(s)
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 02:20 by BLKMGK.)
find quote
drivesoslow Offline
Fan
Posts: 460
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #4
What does the skin show for passthrough device?
find quote
BLKMGK Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,736
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 4
Location: USA Virginia
Post: #5
alsa:hdmi for the Asrock, I'd have to run upstairs to see the other but they are both similar but not same. This is coming from the .asoundrc I believe and I had fits getting sound working on each of them in the past!

Openelec Gotham, MCE remote(s), Intel i3 NUC, DVDs fed from unRAID cataloged by DVD Profiler. HD-DVD encoded with Handbrake to x.264. Yamaha receiver(s)
find quote
drivesoslow Offline
Fan
Posts: 460
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #6
Here are the errors I am logging:

Code:
17:48:25 T:3037854016   DEBUG: CAESinkALSA::EnumerateDevicesEx - Skipping HDMI device hdmi:CARD=Generic,DEV=0 as it has no ELD data
17:48:25 T:3037854016   ERROR: CAESinkOSS::EnumerateDevicesEx - Failed to open mixer: /dev/mixer
17:48:25 T:3037854016    INFO: CAESinkALSA::Initialize - Attempting to open device
17:48:25 T:3037854016   ERROR: CAESinkALSA::Initialize - snd_pcm_open_lconf(-2) -
17:48:25 T:3037854016   ERROR: CAESinkOSS::Initialize - Failed to get supported formats, assuming AFMT_S16_NE
find quote
bluedevil229 Offline
Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
So what is bringing you guys to test 12 already? Any bid enhancements we should be looking out for?
find quote
drivesoslow Offline
Fan
Posts: 460
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #8
I always compile from GIT once every couple of weeks
find quote
BLKMGK Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,736
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 4
Location: USA Virginia
Post: #9
Here's a lengthy chunk from mine. XBMC doesn't appear to be erroring on sound issues which is pretty puzzling. I'm also pretty confused at the SQL errors. I run an SQL server and XBMC should have full access - in fact the database it's trying to create exists! I might try dropping it and letting it recreate <sigh>

http://pastebin.com/TdZQyM3Q

Edit: Oh and I compile almost every night. I test and play with each new feature as I have time!

Openelec Gotham, MCE remote(s), Intel i3 NUC, DVDs fed from unRAID cataloged by DVD Profiler. HD-DVD encoded with Handbrake to x.264. Yamaha receiver(s)
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 03:27 by BLKMGK.)
find quote
BLKMGK Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,736
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 4
Location: USA Virginia
Post: #10
Okay, I found the same errors as you did! I also noticed that there's a comment about alsa revisions that we may need to pay attention to.

21:58:26 T:139816387864512 DEBUG: CAESinkALSA::EnumerateDevicesEx - Unable to obtain ELD information for device hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0, make sure you have ALSA >= 1.0.25

Sure enough, I'm running 1.0.23 on both machines! I will be updating, likely from source, in a few minutes. I'm betting this is the issue and I suspect I'll be compiling from source to fix this Sad

http://pastebin.com/ZSFTiQJB

Openelec Gotham, MCE remote(s), Intel i3 NUC, DVDs fed from unRAID cataloged by DVD Profiler. HD-DVD encoded with Handbrake to x.264. Yamaha receiver(s)
find quote
BLKMGK Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,736
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 4
Location: USA Virginia
Post: #11
This scrip twith some mods is what I'm currently using. I had to remove the portion that halts ALSA at the top, not sure why. the build dependencies are taking forever to load - latex etc. and something like 190megs of documentation. Yuck! 1.025 is the latest stable and is what I'm moving to as it's the listed minimum.

http://www.atoztoa.com/2010/01/install-a...buntu.html

Openelec Gotham, MCE remote(s), Intel i3 NUC, DVDs fed from unRAID cataloged by DVD Profiler. HD-DVD encoded with Handbrake to x.264. Yamaha receiver(s)
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 04:38 by BLKMGK.)
find quote
BLKMGK Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,736
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 4
Location: USA Virginia
Post: #12
Had issues with that script. Found a PPA but my kernel version doesn't appear to be available - 2.6.35-32. So I tried a different script and run into compilation errors with ALSA 1.025! Argh!

http://pastebin.com/0McgzJR2

Stuck for now. REALLY do not want to reload the OS or upgrade to 11.x and get stuck with Unity crap Sad

Openelec Gotham, MCE remote(s), Intel i3 NUC, DVDs fed from unRAID cataloged by DVD Profiler. HD-DVD encoded with Handbrake to x.264. Yamaha receiver(s)
find quote
drivesoslow Offline
Fan
Posts: 460
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #13
I'm on kernel 3.2 and Alsa 1.25 so I'm not sure why mine is freaking out.
find quote
nanouk76 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #14
(2012-05-12 02:00)drivesoslow Wrote:  Mine is broke too. It looks like the AudioEngine branch was merged. If you look under System in Settings does it say no hardware found?
Settings ==> System ==> Audio shows "Error: no device found" or something to that effect on my system. Cannot check as I reverted back to Eden. The Audio page shows a few new settings too. I will be watching the progress made in this alpha since I still cannot play ISO's or VIDEO_TS folders properly in Eden on my Ubuntu 12.04 system.

ASUS Motherboard M5A78L-M/USB3 // 8 GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce GT 430 graphics card // 2 GB RAM
Ubuntu upgraded to 12.04 LTS
XBMC v.11 Eden
find quote
drivesoslow Offline
Fan
Posts: 460
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #15
I added al my logs to the AE thread over here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...id=1101695
find quote
Post Reply