textures change after texturepacker conversion...

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
liquidskin76 Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 1,348
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 17
Location: Arkham, Gotham City
Post: #1
Hi guys,

After running my textures through texturepacker, some appear differently. Here's an example (scroll bar)...

before...

[Image: ZcbkU.jpg]

after...

[Image: OKRTT.jpg]

Any idea why this would happen. That particular texture is just standard photoshop RGB 8bit.

Cheers

HTPC: Streacom F1C | Asus H87I-Plus ITX | Intel Core i5-4670T | Kingston HyperX SSD | Kingston DDR3 RAM
Home AV: Sony KDL-40HX723 | Sky+HD | Sony BDP-S480 BD Player | Sony STR-DH820 AV Receiver | Sony 5.1 Speaker System | Sony PS3 Slim | Logitech Harmony Touch
find quote
`Black Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 2,358
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 62
Location: Germany
Post: #2
This happens when the texture is very small... you can try adding border="1" to the texture which mostly helps or you have to use a slightly bigger texture.

[Image: xp1080-21.png]
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-14 13:26 by `Black.)
find quote
butchabay Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 3,684
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 71
Location: Planet Crematoria
Post: #3
Have a similar problem with some packed textures.
Another strange behaviour i've noticed, when i download my modded skin fusion migma v2 from my repository it shows fine, but if i download the same version via xbmc passion repo i have similar effects you've posted in your screenshots.

Will post some screenshots when i get home this evening.

Hope really someone comes up and can explain why this happens Smile


Edit: Just saw black's post.

Sadly it's not only happening with small textures, i have a bigger background showing different before and after packing the textures.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-14 13:29 by butchabay.)
find quote
liquidskin76 Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 1,348
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 17
Location: Arkham, Gotham City
Post: #4
(2012-05-14 13:26)`Black Wrote:  This happens when the texture is very small... you can try adding border="1" to the texture which mostly helps or you have to use a slightly bigger texture.

Hey Black,

The two textures i'm seeing this with are both 6x6 pixels, then stretched using code dimensions, so that may well be the problem. I'll try increasing there size.

Cheers

HTPC: Streacom F1C | Asus H87I-Plus ITX | Intel Core i5-4670T | Kingston HyperX SSD | Kingston DDR3 RAM
Home AV: Sony KDL-40HX723 | Sky+HD | Sony BDP-S480 BD Player | Sony STR-DH820 AV Receiver | Sony 5.1 Speaker System | Sony PS3 Slim | Logitech Harmony Touch
find quote
pecinko Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,677
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 49
Location: Prague / Belgrade
Post: #5
You should be fine with textures 4x4 or bigger.

My guess is that you are using 1px padding around textures and this does not work well with progress/scroll bars if you do not force border.

My skins:

Amber
Quartz

find quote
Hitcher Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 10,288
Joined: Aug 2007
Reputation: 80
Location: Eastleigh, UK
Post: #6
As 'black said, just add border="1" to your smaller textures.

Code:
<texturesliderbarfocus border="1">common/scroll_bar_focus.png</texturesliderbarfocus>

[Image: screenshot001ox.jpg]
find quote
liquidskin76 Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 1,348
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 17
Location: Arkham, Gotham City
Post: #7
Yeah, the 1 pixel border sorted. Cheers guys.

HTPC: Streacom F1C | Asus H87I-Plus ITX | Intel Core i5-4670T | Kingston HyperX SSD | Kingston DDR3 RAM
Home AV: Sony KDL-40HX723 | Sky+HD | Sony BDP-S480 BD Player | Sony STR-DH820 AV Receiver | Sony 5.1 Speaker System | Sony PS3 Slim | Logitech Harmony Touch
find quote