configure buttons for VRC-1100 remote
I have the MCE remote VRC-1100 and have already looked at the thread below to try and configure it. I'm new to Linux so a lot of the instructions went over my head.

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW...for_Ubuntu

All I want to do is configure the remote so I can use certain keyboard commands rather then get up and tap the keyboard. The keys in question are currently \ and C. The remote works as soon as you plug it in with the majority of commands except these two. As I mentioned earlier, the instructions with LIRC seem complicated and I couldn't get my head around them. Is there an easier method where I can use a GUI or simple text editor at all?

I have the same remote and it's very easy to program the buttons for XBMC without having to use LIRC. The remote can be recognized simply as a USB keyboard device by going through the XBMC menus: System/Settings/System/Input device and activating the "Remote control sends keyboard presses" option.

Next, you'll need to create a keyboard.xml file in ~/.xbmc/userdata/keymaps with your override key definitions. I use the "Guide" button for ToggleFullScreen ("\" on keyboard) and the "1" button for ContexMenu ("C" on keyboard). The keyboard.xml entries for these two definitions are as follows:
Code:
<keymap>
  <global>
    <keyboard>
      <g mod="ctrl">ToggleFullscreen</g>         <!-- Guide button toggles full-screen  -->
      <numpadone>ContextMenu</numpadone>         <!-- Numeric 1 button displays context menu -->
    </keyboard>
  </global>
</keymap>