Installing XBMC on Ubuntu Server 11 for Beginners
Hi Guys.

I have a headless install of Ubuntu Server 11, although it does have a screen and GUI I can enable when I'm using it directly for tasks more easily
done in a GUI, but by default the GUI is off.

I'm still quite a Noob though, and have only had the server going for about 4 weeks, and it being my first real linux experience.

I see there are two streams that can be used ... 1 being a headless server version where you execute xbmc --server and the other being a separate executable being xbmc_headless.

Now I have no idea how to install either one, nor how to use those GIT repositories ... I've tried my best, even following some basic instruction on another thread. I would really appreciate if someone could help me out ... I assume the xbmc_headless version is the way to go, as that I believe is being done by the main xbmc team?

I must also throw out there I've never used XBMC before ... so this is really from scratch for me.

Otherwise I don't mind installing standard XBMC as long as I can leave the GUI switched off, but I'm guessing that can't be done.

Regards

Itai
XBMC plays media. I don't think you want to use it to serve media... unless you wanted that to host centralised settings for more than one XBMC install (http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW..._libraries).

Just set-up ubuntu to share files using SMB/NFS/AFP (should be fairly easy) then XBMC that is connected to TV/computer etc can get files from the server.

Flirc now has a forum: forum.flirc.tv
Sorry for highjacking the thread but i suppose i have a follow-up question anyway Wink

I'm thinking about setting up a central library for my xbmc-setup at home like this: