HOW-TO Idle detection on XBMC server running squeezecenter
Idle detection on XBMC:

My server runs a variety of services including XBMC, squeezecenter and a squeezeslave client. I also use it as a file server with my main access being through ssh. I wanted a way to shutdown the server down after being idle for a set time period but couldn't see any easy way of doing this as these services don't talk to each other.

After researching many forums I decided to just write my own python script and run it as an upstart service. I'm not a programmer so the code is not pretty, however it does work. I thought it might be useful to others so have posted it here. If anyone has any improvements or suggestions please post below.

How it works:

I set my xbmc to display a screensaver after 2 minutes of inactivity. The screen saver is a slideshow of fanart in /home/username/Fanart. The script checks if xbmc is playing anything from this folder and hence detects if the screensaver is running. The reason for not using the proper xbmc fanart folder is to avoid false positives during normal use of the menus, though the risk of this happening is small.

The script also connects to squeezecenter and checks each player in turn to see if they are paused or stopped. If all players are inactive squeezecenter is considered idle. Note that squeezeboxes being powered on doesn't constitute activity in the below code, however this can easily be changed.

Additionally, if the file /home/username/nosleep exists the script won't shutdown the computer.

The script then checks to see if any ssh connections are currently open. If there are any established connections then shutdown will be prevented.

The script will do the above checks every 30 seconds. Once all systems have been idle for 20 minutes the server will be shutdown.

There's no reason that the code couldn't suspend or hibernate instead of shutdown. Those functions simply don't work on my system which is why I call the shutdown command.