which version of nox is more compatable with frodo?

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 3 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Death-Axe Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 756
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 5
Post: #1
Hi guys, I wouldn't normally use nightly versions of XBMC, but it's audioengine feature is needed with my new setup (digital audio, AE keeps the sound active without the digital going to sleep, or so I am told.)

I know nox isn't made for frodo, but is 3.0 usable on frodo? I really need the AE feature, and nox is the only skin I like. Such a situation I have here!


Someone told me to ask about pvr spam bug or something, is that fixed? not a clue about the bug myself.

[Image: widget]
HTPC: Motherboard: Asus F2A85-V, CPU: AMD A10 6800K, RAM: Kingston XMP BEAST 16GB, Samsung 840 EVO 250GB, LG CH12NS30 Blu-Ray drive, Samsung, and WD various 2 and 3TB for storage, Windows 8.1, one for all remote/FLIRC, Logitech z906 surround system.
find quote
phil65 Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 4,455
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 60
Location: Cologne, Germany
Post: #2
(2012-05-22 15:51)Death-Axe Wrote:  Hi guys, I wouldn't normally use nightly versions of XBMC, but it's audioengine feature is needed with my new setup (digital audio, AE keeps the sound active without the digital going to sleep, or so I am told.)

I know nox isn't made for frodo, but is 3.0 usable on frodo? I really need the AE feature, and nox is the only skin I like. Such a situation I have here!


Someone told me to ask about pvr spam bug or something, is that fixed? not a clue about the bug myself.

what pvr spam bug?
we didn´t pay attention to frodo yet, and so we don´t know how well it works. just try and report.
find quote
CutSickAss Offline
Fan
Posts: 517
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 33
Location: Greece
Post: #3
Personally I've been working with Aeon Nox 3.0 GIT and Frodo nightly versions the last couple of weeks without any significant problems. A couple of issues I've noticed are:
- The poster does not show up during pause.
- Navigation: Cannot move UP to access the actors' name and the Metadata script in the MovieInformation window.
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #4
Hi guys - I referred Death-Axe here - the bug/issue referred to shows up in a few threads, and I've seen it in many logs from users who use the Aeon skin or its variants. There's a thread here among others. Not sure if it's a specific variant or build it's showing up on, but it appears to be searching for pvr controls and not finding them, so repeated log entries are generated.

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
phil65 Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 4,455
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 60
Location: Cologne, Germany
Post: #5
(2012-05-22 16:23)DDDamian Wrote:  Hi guys - I referred Death-Axe here - the bug/issue referred to shows up in a few threads, and I've seen it in many logs from users who use the Aeon skin or its variants. There's a thread here among others. Not sure if it's a specific variant or build it's showing up on, but it appears to be searching for pvr controls and not finding them, so repeated log entries are generated.

we´re only using pvrmanager.enabled for three conditional includes (which only get checked once), so this shouldn´t be a problem here.
And Mq3 really hasn´t much to do with Nox anymore Wink
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-22 16:35 by phil65.)
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #6
Thx phil65 Wink

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-22 16:45 by DDDamian.)
find quote
BigNoid Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 2,923
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 90
Location: Below sea level
Post: #7
(2012-05-22 16:34)phil65 Wrote:  And Mq3 really hasn´t much to do with Nox anymore Wink
find quote
phil65 Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 4,455
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 60
Location: Cologne, Germany
Post: #8
(2012-05-22 16:51)Big_Noid Wrote:  
(2012-05-22 16:34)phil65 Wrote:  And Mq3 really hasn´t much to do with Nox anymore Wink

never had, sorry. lol.
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #9
Just gave it a whirl with latest master - no issues - worked fine Smile Looks like that issue may just have been with Mq3

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
Death-Axe Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 756
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 5
Post: #10
Nox 2.0 working fine with the latest, yup! thank you to all for the help!

[Image: widget]
HTPC: Motherboard: Asus F2A85-V, CPU: AMD A10 6800K, RAM: Kingston XMP BEAST 16GB, Samsung 840 EVO 250GB, LG CH12NS30 Blu-Ray drive, Samsung, and WD various 2 and 3TB for storage, Windows 8.1, one for all remote/FLIRC, Logitech z906 surround system.
find quote
Death-Axe Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 756
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 5
Post: #11
Nox 3.0, tv fan art is not showing at all. And in both 2.0 and 3.0 movie covers are taking longer to show up. Not sure why!

[Image: widget]
HTPC: Motherboard: Asus F2A85-V, CPU: AMD A10 6800K, RAM: Kingston XMP BEAST 16GB, Samsung 840 EVO 250GB, LG CH12NS30 Blu-Ray drive, Samsung, and WD various 2 and 3TB for storage, Windows 8.1, one for all remote/FLIRC, Logitech z906 surround system.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team-XBMC
Posts: 10,261
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 153
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #12
(2012-05-22 23:13)Death-Axe Wrote:  Nox 3.0, tv fan art is not showing at all. And in both 2.0 and 3.0 movie covers are taking longer to show up. Not sure why!

because they are nightly build and things aren't optimized yet.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
Death-Axe Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 756
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 5
Post: #13
Ah ok :-) as with the new development cycle being monthly, will the may snapshot be optimized? Thanks guys.

[Image: widget]
HTPC: Motherboard: Asus F2A85-V, CPU: AMD A10 6800K, RAM: Kingston XMP BEAST 16GB, Samsung 840 EVO 250GB, LG CH12NS30 Blu-Ray drive, Samsung, and WD various 2 and 3TB for storage, Windows 8.1, one for all remote/FLIRC, Logitech z906 surround system.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team-XBMC
Posts: 10,261
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 153
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #14
(2012-05-23 00:13)Death-Axe Wrote:  Ah ok :-) as with the new development cycle being monthly, will the may snapshot be optimized? Thanks guys.

perhaps. probably

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
Death-Axe Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 756
Joined: Feb 2007
Reputation: 5
Post: #15
You guys are awesome :-)

[Image: widget]
HTPC: Motherboard: Asus F2A85-V, CPU: AMD A10 6800K, RAM: Kingston XMP BEAST 16GB, Samsung 840 EVO 250GB, LG CH12NS30 Blu-Ray drive, Samsung, and WD various 2 and 3TB for storage, Windows 8.1, one for all remote/FLIRC, Logitech z906 surround system.
find quote