Antec ISK 300-150 DESKTOP A8-3850 (non-HTPC)

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Rainbow  Antec ISK 300-150 DESKTOP A8-3850 (non-HTPC)
Post: #1
[Image: antec_isk300-150-300.jpg]
* It has a second front vent for the 150W PSU the 300-65 don't have it.

No longer building this! It will stay here for reference!
It's too much for what I need so this is what I ended up with: Beer's M350 ASUS I-DELUXE






--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Case: Antec ISK 300-150
APU: AMD A8-3850
Mobo: ASRock A75M-ITX
Memory: Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 8GB 1866
SSD: Crucial M4 CT064M4SSD2 2.5" 64GB SATA III
HDD: 320 GB Hitachi 5400 RPM
CPU Cooler: Alpine 64 PLUS
DVD SLIM: SAMSUNG 8X Slim Internal DVD Burner
Win 7/64 Ultimate



This will be replacing my Lian Li Desktop.

Goal is to be my workhorse and to be silent yet powerful.
(I am jealous how quiet the A6-PACK is and hope this will be too.)

By reviews on the 150W PSU that is inside they say it is strong and quiet that I have to see for my self.

Getting the A-8 3850 for $20 bucks cheaper with out it's stock cooler. Therefore I can purchase the ALPINE 64 Plus witch seems that it
will fit in there correctly.

I would of gotten the BIG SHURIKEN but it won't fit because of the 150W PSU power plug in the back.

Oh yes (non-HTPC)Confused It's way more capable to run everything as its smaller brother the A6-PACK but this is overkill.....

I hope I can run this with out the fan CAGE.... so I can see my cool Tracer RAM....

This is what the RAM is about! I guess I am taking this to the top! I don't thing I will be able to see the LED's Tongue





I will keep you guys posted!

CHEERS!!!! Big Grin

Basically this new build is an A6-PACK on steroids!!!!



Please add to my reputation if you like this build or it has helped you: [Image: vjPtt.png] It's right down on my sig...
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-29 07:32 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
morfeus Offline
Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #2
Looks like a great build Beer!
Mmmm....drooooooling Big Grin Tongue
I wan't to replace my huge noisy Antec with this too Smile

XBMC 11.0 Eden (Ubuntu 12.04) - My i3 Build + guide/tips
Sony 46" HX723 - NAD T 744 AV. B&W DM602 S3....and the coolest air guitar in town!
find quote
poofyhairguy Offline
Resident Hardware Guru
Posts: 2,956
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 49
Post: #3
Interesting build. I can't wait to see if that PSU will hold up.

Mini/Micro ITX Frontend (with SSD) + Mediaserver/NAS + Logitech Harmony + LCD/LED/Plasma TV + Nice AV Receiver + XBMC + USENET + sabnzbd + sickbeard +couchpotato

My Setup--HTPC Building Guide- Start Here--Advice on Hard Drives and SSDs--Mediaserver Guide--Harmony Guide
find quote
KraziJoe Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #4
I ripped out my PS and threw in a PICO and performed surgery to the insides for the Shuriken. Now it's quiet and all good...
find quote
Pasoa2021 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Mar 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
(2012-05-23 19:44)KraziJoe Wrote:  I ripped out my PS and threw in a PICO and performed surgery to the insides for the Shuriken. Now it's quiet and all good...

Any pics?
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-23 21:56 by Pasoa2021.)
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #6
(2012-05-23 19:44)KraziJoe Wrote:  I ripped out my PS and threw in a PICO and performed surgery to the insides for the Shuriken. Now it's quiet and all good...


Right so was your 150w stock supply loud?
I already done that with my A6-PACK.....

I don't want to do it with this case and keep the 150 if possible.... but if anything goes wrong I guess I have to fork out the money and buy a PICO.... but that is not the point.

Point is making it with the stock PSU. Big Grin
find quote
KraziJoe Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #7
http://www.flickr.com/photos/krazijoe/71.../lightbox/
(2012-05-23 21:50)Beer40oz Wrote:  
(2012-05-23 19:44)KraziJoe Wrote:  I ripped out my PS and threw in a PICO and performed surgery to the insides for the Shuriken. Now it's quiet and all good...


Right so was your 150w stock supply loud?
I already done that with my A6-PACK.....

I don't want to do it with this case and keep the 150 if possible.... but if anything goes wrong I guess I have to fork out the money and buy a PICO.... but that is not the point.

Point is making it with the stock PSU. Big Grin

I may have been able to, but I just wanted to rip stuff apart...
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-23 21:52 by KraziJoe.)
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #8
(2012-05-23 21:33)Pasoa2021 Wrote:  
(2012-05-23 19:44)KraziJoe Wrote:  I ripped out my PS and threw in a PICO and performed surgery to the insides for the Shuriken. Now it's quiet and all good...

Any pics?

Well you can take a look at my video of my A6-PACK... its the same thing with out the PSU.....

Also can you edit your reply..... take my first POST off.... it makes it so long....
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-23 21:53 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
Pasoa2021 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Mar 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2012-05-23 21:52)Beer40oz Wrote:  
(2012-05-23 21:33)Pasoa2021 Wrote:  
(2012-05-23 19:44)KraziJoe Wrote:  I ripped out my PS and threw in a PICO and performed surgery to the insides for the Shuriken. Now it's quiet and all good...

Any pics?

Well you can take a look at my video of my A6-PACK... its the same thing with out the PSU.....

Also can you edit your reply..... take my first POST off.... it makes it so long....

Is the A8 basically more powerful than the A6?
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #10
Pasoa2021 Yes! but for HTPC.... all you need is the A6-3500.... if you are going to multitask then the A8.....
And the A6-3500 is 65W .....

Doing this new build as I mentioned for my Desktop.... it is overkill for HTPC..... and I don't still know how the noise is going to be.... but if it's all GOOD.... then yes you can have this as your HTPC.....

Big Grin No big deal..... but maybe get 4 gigs and a 32gig ssd and so on....

The options are endless.....

The A6-PACK is a winner for HTPC.....
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-23 22:11 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
Pasoa2021 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Mar 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
(2012-05-23 22:01)Beer40oz Wrote:  Pasoa2021 Yes! but for HTPC.... all you need is the A6-3500.... if you are going to multitask then the A8.....
And the A6-3500 is 65W .....

Doing this new build as I mentioned for my Desktop.... it is overkill for HTPC..... and I don't still know how the noise is going to be.... but if it's all GOOD.... then yes you can have this as your HTPC.....

Big Grin No big deal..... but maybe get 4 gigs and a 32gig ssd and so on....

The options are endless.....

The A6-PACK is a winner for HTPC.....

What about light gamging / emulators on A6-Pack?
find quote
Mick1152 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 7
Post: #12
Beer! As long as that power supply is decent it should be enough power. My A8-3870K system maxed out at 117W when I really stressed it and that's with two physical hard drives and an SSD in it.

HTPC 1 - AMD A8-3870K, ASRock A75M, Silverstone ML03B, Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR3 1866, Crucial M4 64GB SSD
HTPC 2 - AMD A6-3500, ASRock A75M-ITX, Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR3 1866, Patriot Torqx 2 32GB SSD
HTPC 3 - Intel Celeron 847, OpenELEC
RV HTPC - Intel i3-2120 Mini-ITX, 12TB Storage
3 Raspberry Pis
unRAID 5 Server - AMD Sempron 145, 4TB Parity, 16TB Storage

find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #13
(2012-05-23 23:02)Pasoa2021 Wrote:  What about light gamging / emulators on A6-Pack?

Yes!

(2012-05-24 00:12)Mick1152 Wrote:  Beer! As long as that power supply is decent it should be enough power. My A8-3870K system maxed out at 117W when I really stressed it and that's with two physical hard drives and an SSD in it.

Sounds good! Now I should get a Kill A Watt.... Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-24 01:38 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,286
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #14
(2012-05-23 18:54)poofyhairguy Wrote:  Interesting build. I can't wait to see if that PSU will hold up.
I doubt it......and welcome back bud!

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #15
(2012-05-24 02:56)bluray Wrote:  
(2012-05-23 18:54)poofyhairguy Wrote:  Interesting build. I can't wait to see if that PSU will hold up.
I doubt it......and welcome back bud!

Why are you doubting? Has someone already tried? or do you have it? have you tested...

I already looked online and people are running there GPU's for gaming on it....

Here is the proof....

#95

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1490163&page=5
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-24 03:15 by Beer40oz.)
find quote
Post Reply