AppleTV 2 (black) - New File Detection

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
zzupp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Guys,

I hope I'm not having a brain fart moment here, but I can't seem to figure this out. My problem is as follows:

XBMC does not consistently detect new files added to SMB shares.

For this specific instance I'm trying to get a TV Show episode to be detected, scraped, and added to the library. I have the system set to update the library on startup, however the only way to get the show detected was to manually scan for new content from the TV Show name in the videos menu.

Here's the log file showing startup not detecting the file and then the manual scan detecting the file.
http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=2921

Has anyone experienced this behavior before, and if so, did you fix it?

Note: I used EMM to prescrape(?) the shows and add a tvshow.nfo http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=2922 and an episode.nfo http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=2923
find quote
zzupp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Anyone? Maybe just a joke so my post isn't so alone.
find quote
DLeavy Offline
Fan
Posts: 328
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 8
Post: #3
Knock, knock.....
Who's there?
Interupting cow.
Interupting co
MOO!

(it's cute when my daughter does it).

As for what you're seeing:

There's an issue with the tvshow.nfo created by Ember - it's missing an EpisodeGuide (I think this is the tag) tag that XBMC needs to look up and add episodes. If you haven't generated the episode nfo file using Ember, XBMC tries to scan it into the library, can't because of the missing tag and doesn't load it. Update Library won't try to process it again unless it notices a change in the file (when I did this, the log basically said as much - I'm not sure what type of change it is looking for, as adding a thumbnail and nfo for the episode isn't a valid change/update for the Update Library function to try it again).

However, if you have later generated the nfo file for the episode, the Scan for New Content will pick it up.

Basically, with these tvshow.nfo's from Ember, you have to create epsiode nfo's to load them. The other part, is that Update Library only gives you one shot at loading the file into the library.
find quote
wilson.joe Offline
Fan
Posts: 449
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 6
Location: Salem, Or
Post: #4
Have you got your mooovies fixed?

In a world without walls and fences who needs windows and gates, open source, opens minds, so open yours today.

[Image: widget]
find quote
DLeavy Offline
Fan
Posts: 328
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 8
Post: #5
That joke was an udder failure.
find quote
zzupp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
(2012-06-02 01:52)DLeavy Wrote:  Knock, knock.....
Who's there?
Interupting cow.
Interupting co
MOO!

(it's cute when my daughter does it).

As for what you're seeing:

There's an issue with the tvshow.nfo created by Ember - it's missing an EpisodeGuide (I think this is the tag) tag that XBMC needs to look up and add episodes. If you haven't generated the episode nfo file using Ember, XBMC tries to scan it into the library, can't because of the missing tag and doesn't load it. Update Library won't try to process it again unless it notices a change in the file (when I did this, the log basically said as much - I'm not sure what type of change it is looking for, as adding a thumbnail and nfo for the episode isn't a valid change/update for the Update Library function to try it again).

However, if you have later generated the nfo file for the episode, the Scan for New Content will pick it up.

Basically, with these tvshow.nfo's from Ember, you have to create epsiode nfo's to load them. The other part, is that Update Library only gives you one shot at loading the file into the library.

Thanks! It seems a quick search for that turns up others having the same issue.

http://ember.purplepig.net/issues/10
http://ember.purplepig.net/issues/94

I'm going to try deleting the tvshow.nfo file and report back.
find quote
zzupp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Well, deleting the tvshow.nfo file did not fix the problem. More troubleshooting required...

My initial thought is perhaps the database is funked up since I started with a pre-scraped show from EMM and now it expects that file to be there.

Strangely enough, if I remember correctly, I didn't have this problem on my previous windows platform.
find quote