iPad 3 and xbmc?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
thesuffering Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Just jailbroke my iPad 3 5.1.1 and want to get xbmc running. Is it compatible? Do I follow the same steps I did for iPad 2?
find quote
MiloFoxburr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Just installed it there on my iPad 3, works fine. The interface is not Retina enabled obviously. I tried a 720p Anime MKV and it didn't run very well at all, but another 720p MKV (Not Anime) played fine.

Nice to have Hardware acceleration back for MKVs Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-25 17:25 by MiloFoxburr.)
find quote
dieselboy27 Offline
Fan
Posts: 362
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Canada
Post: #3
Come on RETINA Wink
find quote
martix Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
I jailbroke my Ipad3 too and i hope a update for the retina display will come soon! Smile
find quote
BarakRL Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
strange. I though that linusyang patch should have fixed the retina display issues...
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...ght=retina

hope someone will take a look at it.
find quote
faythebest Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Videos are laggy when I play through an SD card with the CCK. Hope they fix it.
find quote
xamphear Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
(2012-05-25 21:24)BarakRL Wrote:  strange. I though that linusyang patch should have fixed the retina display issues...
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...ght=retina

hope someone will take a look at it.
This patch is for the "retina" display on the iPhone, which is 960*540. The "retina" display on the iPad is 2048*1536 and will probably require a whole new set of patches.

Blame the confusion on Apple's lame marketing terminology.
find quote
smiledr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Everything works fine and fast, the only problem i experienced was that the audio settings doesnt work on ipad 3, 5.1.1, i mean the menu you use to increase the volume if a video should have a very low audio.
find quote
linusyang Offline
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 3
Post: #9
(2012-05-25 21:24)BarakRL Wrote:  strange. I though that linusyang patch should have fixed the retina display issues...
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...ght=retina

hope someone will take a look at it.

It's really strange. I thought my patch would work on iPad 3, but it doesn't. Someone met the same issue here: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/97570...tina-ipad. Frown
Will someone try the latest nightly build and see if it is retina displayed, since I don't have an iPad 3. Sad
find quote
deanmv Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 877
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 10
Location: UK
Post: #10
(2012-05-26 05:53)xamphear Wrote:  
(2012-05-25 21:24)BarakRL Wrote:  strange. I though that linusyang patch should have fixed the retina display issues...
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...ght=retina

hope someone will take a look at it.
This patch is for the "retina" display on the iPhone, which is 960*540. The "retina" display on the iPad is 2048*1536 and will probably require a whole new set of patches.

Blame the confusion on Apple's lame marketing terminology.

Rentins refers to the PPI and not the resolution so if the PPI is over a certain number it is what apple brand Retina.

Set Up
Raspberry Pi running Raspbmc - XBMC 12.2
40" Samsung ES6800 LED Smart 3D 1080P TV
Onkyo HTS3405 5.1 DD True HD and DTS-HD Surround Sound
ReadyNAS Duo with 4TB (2 x 2TB X-RAID) Western Digital Caviar Green using NFS
find quote
msmouse Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
I installed xmbc stable and it worked like a charm. Then i upgraded to the 5-25 nightly build, and swith video ouput mode to fullscreen #2, and then came the tragedy --- only the left top corner of the whole picture is showing on the tv (both the software gui and the video picture itself)
find quote
carbncl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
(2012-05-26 07:35)linusyang Wrote:  It's really strange. I thought my patch would work on iPad 3, but it doesn't. Someone met the same issue here: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/97570...tina-ipad. Frown
Will someone try the latest nightly build and see if it is retina displayed, since I don't have an iPad 3. Sad
Just did, installed 20120525 git version, and from what I see in Settings/System/Video Output/Display, only 1024x768 is available.
All user interface with the Touched skin is blured. Didn't tried yet with a video.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-26 11:36 by carbncl.)
find quote
PantsOnFire Offline
Fan
Posts: 554
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 2
Post: #13
Pretty excited about the new jailbreak for xbmc purposes, I've always wanted a portable(ish) device with xbmc running on it, and now it can be done! Big Grin
Anyone able to YouTube a video of it in action?

My band - www.myspace.com/seabasskid
My system - ASRock 330, 1.6GHz DualCore Atom, GeForce9400 ION, 2GB ram
XboxLive Gamertag - SkillipEvolver
find quote
carbncl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Not being retina, that's basically the same that xbmc on iPad 2, there are many video on youtube with this like this one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NvXdAAOPq1o
find quote
carbncl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
@linusyang, gave a look at your patch, it looks fine for iPad 3, maybe that is the problem.
What iOS SDK version is used to generate the nighty builds?... Trying to build on my side with 5.1... Smile

EDIT: Yes that's it. XBMC nighty builds are built against 4.2, so UIScreen.scale returns 1 on iPad 3...
(makes sense, iPad 3 wasn't released when 4.2 was out, and probably rely on some device -missing- constants)
Two options, 1. build against 5.1, 2. change code to do a specific check on device model using some code like this
Trying against 5.1... Only got latest version anyway.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-26 21:03 by carbncl.)
find quote
Post Reply