New Scraper idea - thoughts?
I'm not sure if anyone has been talking about this or not, or if there is even any interest in such a scraper but I really like the idea of scraping "similar films" or "You may also like this". I noticed that IMDB has this feature now on there site (may have been there for a while, I just noticed it) and sites like Netflix and Blockbuster have always had features like that. I'm just throwing out a suggestion as I have no real programming experience and probably couldn't develop such a scraper but I just wanted to see if anyone was interested in this idea. My vision of it would be like this, only with better graphics of course.

Is there anything like this currently available?
mmm.... In theory, if the site being scraped has the information (i.e., IMDB), obtaining it would not be very difficult, the problem is that it should then be stored in the database and there is no place there prepared to this, it would require a new version of the database.

IMHO, the XBMC database has some shortcomings (although some work is being done to improve it), maybe some kind of standarized extensions could be designed so certain addons could write data without breaking anything else; for example, an addon for what you are proposing (then the skins should be capable of detecting and supporting it, but the skins that do not support it would simply work without the functionality).

There are huge opportunities there, some scrappers could create their own extensions (for example, the host for docummentaries or the guests in talk shows), the skins could store how to display a certain path (so if you change skin and then come back, your settings for each skin will be kept), and a long etc.

But I'm afraid all these is very low level functionality, it probably will affect an enormous part of XBMC code and so it qould require lots of dev's time&work,