Trying Live CD on older ATI hardware

Preface: I'm an XBMC newbie, don't have much Linux experience, but am fairly techincal in general.

So I'm trying to see if XBMC would be useful on an older piece of hardware that I picked up. The CPU is a P4 at 3.0Ghz and the video card is an ATI FireGL v3100. (It is an older PCIe card with 128 MB. Wikipedia says that the core is a Radeon X300 XT.) I suspect that this hardware should be fine with 720p and be iffy on 1080p. So I burned the Eden disc that I found here, fired it up, and the GUI is unusable. The mouse pointer moves in multi-second jumps. The system info seems to say that I have no GPU and that the CPU on the box is pegged at 100% all of the time.
I realize that this hardware is fairly old, but I'm sure that it can do better than 1 frame every few seconds. What a I doing wrong? Sorry if this is some sort of FAQ. If so, I would appreciate it if someone could point me in the right direction.
Thanks in advance for any help!
I was able to get reasonable UI speed from Geexbox, but the machine seems unable to be able to handle 1080p. It is close to usable, but it drop frames. I assume that a more modern GUI will bridge the difference. (Right?) If so, can someone please recommend a some cheap, older PCIe cards that would be a good fit here? I'm looking for very cheap and would likely want to buy something used from eBay and Craigslist. I'm not looking for anything beyond 1080p MKV playback at this point.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions!
A fanless nVidia gt210 can usually be picked up pretty cheaply.

Here's one for $34 USD + shipping. I'm sure you can get something similar for maybe a little cheaper on eBay.
Thanks for the recommendation. Is any random GeForce 210 the recommended card these day for a cheap HTPC? Or are there a collection of these cards that I should look around and find the best deal amongst the bunch?