Setting up an UnRaid Server - Step by Step from a newbies standpoint
First off.. anyone feel free to correct me if anything looks wrong here..
These instructions are by no means written by me. I have muddled through the forums (Unraid and here on XBMC) to get this information. I cut and pasted, for my own notes, the work of others to get my system going. Im new to this myself and if its not included in this, I probably don’t know the answer. There is a lot of information on the unRaid forums and the official and unofficial wiki and specific information on UnRaid and XBMC in these forums.. read, read, read. I just wanted to get my setup notes written down in one place before I forgot and figured I would share. These instructions are assuming you have a monitor and keyboard hooked up to the unRaid server initially (no mouse needed), that you have the bios set to allow booting from the USB flash drive, that you are only using SATA drives and that the bios is set to NOT EMMULATE ide ports, Im using windows 7 on my main computer. These instructions may differ a little if youre not. For some great builds with parts lists check out this link http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=104489

1st download these following files
The latest unraid server (version 5 in in the late stages of an official final release, Its been around and is still in the ‘testing’ phase, use at your own risk, version 4.7 is the latest official release.. I used 5 release candidate 3)
The Latest preclear – at bottom of 1st post
The Latest unMenu

Using your regular computer, Quick format flash drive to FAT with name
UNRAID
it should be six capital characters

Copy contents of latest unraid server zip file to flash drive, make sure the folder structure is preserved during the unzipping.

Open contents of flash drive, right-click and choose to ‘run as administrator’ on ‘make_bootable’ file.