Which PicoPSU Should i get

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 2 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
markus625 Offline
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #16
Ive got a 600w atx psu in its box, would it be best for me to test what the total pwr wattage is first with a power meter when ive got all the bits together using this psu first, allthru its probably only 65% efficient.

But if i did need the extra power which requires the JR connector i could always modify the case to accept it no doubt.
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,493
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 82
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #17
(2012-06-21 18:23)markus625 Wrote:  Ive got a 600w atx psu in its box, would it be best for me to test what the total pwr wattage is first with a power meter when ive got all the bits together using this psu first, allthru its probably only 65% efficient.

But if i did need the extra power which requires the JR connector i could always modify the case to accept it no doubt.

It'll read higher than what the picoPSU will end up using.

My $0.02:

I have the 120-WI-25 and a 18.5V/6.5A adapter. When I tested using Prime95 with an Intel G620/H61/4GB/64GB SSD/HD5450 it ran around 80W (Kill-a-Watt reading) or so. The A8-3820 is going to run a bit more at full load -- maybe 10-20W?. The HD6570 -- I am not sure how the power consumption compares to the HD5450 -- I am guessing around the same or a bit more -- so you're looking at 90W?-100W? at full load. But, you won't be running it at full load. 1080p video on the A6-3500 was 31W at the wall compared to Prime95 at 77W. In my mind, from my experience using these power supplies, it extrapolates out to "should be fine." You won't know for sure until you try.
find quote
markus625 Offline
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #18
(2012-06-21 19:52)Dougie Fresh Wrote:  It'll read higher than what the picoPSU will end up using.

My $0.02:

I have the 120-WI-25 and a 18.5V/6.5A adapter. When I tested using Prime95 with an Intel G620/H61/4GB/64GB SSD/HD5450 it ran around 80W (Kill-a-Watt reading) or so. The A8-3820 is going to run a bit more at full load -- maybe 10-20W?. The HD6570 -- I am not sure how the power consumption compares to the HD5450 -- I am guessing around the same or a bit more -- so you're looking at 90W?-100W? at full load. But, you won't be running it at full load. 1080p video on the A6-3500 was 31W at the wall compared to Prime95 at 77W. In my mind, from my experience using these power supplies, it extrapolates out to "should be fine." You won't know for sure until you try.

Ive been trying to work out what the watts would be for my system which im slowly building up

A8-3820 65w TDP
OCZ 120GB Agility 3 SSD 0.49w idle 2w when writing. Source from Anandtech
Amd Radeon 6570 44w but Anandtech shows over 200w when under load for some reason not sure why that is unless its there test system.
Corsair 8gb (2x4gb) Ddr3 1600mhz Low Profile Vengeance Memory Kit Cl9 1.35v Power consumption ?
Asus F1A75-I DELUXE Power consumption ? Anandtech show 50w idle and and 132w under load

So looking at the reviews from Anandtech im abit bewildered allthru xbitlabs.com has the Asus F1A75-I DELUXE Power consumption topping out at 65w for cpu burn and just 16watts at idle.
(This post was last modified: 2012-06-21 20:31 by markus625.)
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,493
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 82
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #19
Yeah, it's hard because actual power consumption at the wall will vary depending not only on CPU, motherboard, etc. but the power supply itself too, even between different external AC adapters with the same wattage rating.

And, the TDP rating of a CPU isn't the same as it's power consumption either.
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #20
@Dougie Fresh

Interesting reading your posts....

Thank you.
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,316
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #21
(2012-06-21 19:52)Dougie Fresh Wrote:  
(2012-06-21 18:23)markus625 Wrote:  Ive got a 600w atx psu in its box, would it be best for me to test what the total pwr wattage is first with a power meter when ive got all the bits together using this psu first, allthru its probably only 65% efficient.

But if i did need the extra power which requires the JR connector i could always modify the case to accept it no doubt.

It'll read higher than what the picoPSU will end up using.

My $0.02:

I have the 120-WI-25 and a 18.5V/6.5A adapter. When I tested using Prime95 with an Intel G620/H61/4GB/64GB SSD/HD5450 it ran around 80W (Kill-a-Watt reading) or so. The A8-3820 is going to run a bit more at full load -- maybe 10-20W?. The HD6570 -- I am not sure how the power consumption compares to the HD5450 -- I am guessing around the same or a bit more -- so you're looking at 90W?-100W? at full load. But, you won't be running it at full load. 1080p video on the A6-3500 was 31W at the wall compared to Prime95 at 77W. In my mind, from my experience using these power supplies, it extrapolates out to "should be fine." You won't know for sure until you try.
A8-3820+HD6570= 115W TDP.....picoPSU-160-XT + 192W Adapter Power Kit should be enough.....

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
markus625 Offline
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #22
(2012-06-21 20:47)Dougie Fresh Wrote:  Yeah, it's hard because actual power consumption at the wall will vary depending not only on CPU, motherboard, etc. but the power supply itself too, even between different external AC adapters with the same wattage rating.

And, the TDP rating of a CPU isn't the same as it's power consumption either.

I find the xbitlabs more interesting to read on the graphics card not just how many watts the card uses but also CPU Utilization.
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,493
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 82
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #23
(2012-06-21 21:46)bluray Wrote:  A8-3820+HD6570= 115W TDP.....picoPSU-160-XT + 192W Adapter Power Kit should be enough.....

TDP is not a measure of power consumption and is defined differently by each CPU manufacturer:

http://www.silentpcreview.com/article169-page3.html

"What this means is that Intel’s TDP is actually lower than the maximum power dissipation of the processor (and as you’ll see later, it can be significantly lower). This is in stark contrast to AMD’s TDP numbers, which are higher than the respective processor’s maximum power dissipation".

And this is Intel's white-paper on the subject: http://www.intel.com/content/dam/doc/whi...-paper.pdf which includes information on AMD.

And, as we've been discussing, the plug on the 160-XT is not compatible with his case without modification.
(This post was last modified: 2012-06-22 04:49 by Dougie Fresh.)
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,316
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #24
(2012-06-22 04:43)Dougie Fresh Wrote:  
(2012-06-21 21:46)bluray Wrote:  A8-3820+HD6570= 115W TDP.....picoPSU-160-XT + 192W Adapter Power Kit should be enough.....

TDP is not a measure of power consumption and is defined differently by each CPU manufacturer:
I never said it is.....but it is a good reference point.


(2012-06-22 04:43)Dougie Fresh Wrote:  And, as we've been discussing, the plug on the 160-XT is not compatible with his case without modification.
I never say it will fit without modification.......I'm assuming most DIY person can do some minor modification to install Pico 160-XT.....and 192W should be enough for 115W TDP......it'll most likely operates less than 115W for blu-ray playback.....you'll have some head room with 192W for transcoding and other heavier load tasks....

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
(This post was last modified: 2012-06-22 22:02 by bluray.)
find quote
markus625 Offline
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #25
When ive managed to get everything together ill probably test with a regular atx power supply i have just to see how many watts its consumes even thru the psu is about 65% efficient and then maybe go for a picoPSU-160-XT £45 and the 192W AC Universal Adapter also £45 but £90 seems abit steep to me, unless someone knows where to get em cheaper in the uk.
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,493
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 82
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #26
(2012-06-22 22:01)bluray Wrote:  
(2012-06-22 04:43)Dougie Fresh Wrote:  
(2012-06-21 21:46)bluray Wrote:  A8-3820+HD6570= 115W TDP.....picoPSU-160-XT + 192W Adapter Power Kit should be enough.....

TDP is not a measure of power consumption and is defined differently by each CPU manufacturer:
I never said it is.....but it is a good reference point.


(2012-06-22 04:43)Dougie Fresh Wrote:  And, as we've been discussing, the plug on the 160-XT is not compatible with his case without modification.
I never say it will fit without modification.......I'm assuming most DIY person can do some minor modification to install Pico 160-XT.....and 192W should be enough for 115W TDP......it'll most likely operates less than 115W for blu-ray playback.....you'll have some head room with 192W for transcoding and other heavier load tasks....

Swooping in and saying his system is 115W TDP so get the 160XT + 192W AC adapter is not terribly helpful given the discussion that has already happened in this thread. Of course the most powerful one will more than likely work. But, if the one that requires no modification and costs less will work then all the better. If it turns out that 120W is not enough, then it'll be up to the OP to decide if he's the kind of DIY person you assume wants to take a drill to his $100 case, if he cares to transcode, etc.
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,316
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #27
(2012-06-22 22:42)Dougie Fresh Wrote:  Swooping in and saying his system is 115W TDP so get the 160XT + 192W AC adapter is not terribly helpful given the discussion that has already happened in this thread.
Why mess around with under power? Always give yourself some room for other options, and 192W isn't a lot for A8-3820+HD6570 either........

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,493
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 82
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #28
(2012-06-23 06:03)bluray Wrote:  
(2012-06-22 22:42)Dougie Fresh Wrote:  Swooping in and saying his system is 115W TDP so get the 160XT + 192W AC adapter is not terribly helpful given the discussion that has already happened in this thread.
Why mess around with under power? Always give yourself some room for other options, and 192W isn't a lot for A8-3820+HD6570 either........

To avoid spending more money than necessary to gain nothing needed for the setup -- it's not like you can add more to that case -- and for the OP to NOT have to take a drill to his case if not absolutely necessary.

Adding a mount for the 4-pin mini-DIN connector is not a simple process given the very small precisely spaced screw holes that need to be added. I work with these connectors all the time so I have experience with this. I have a template and the right drill-bits and it still doesn't always come out right.
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,316
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #29
(2012-06-23 16:15)Dougie Fresh Wrote:  it's not like you can add more to that case --
Sorry to disagree.....there are plenty of options (BD-ROM, overclocking, crossfire, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-950, etc) to add to it.....I'm just simpy offered my opinion as you, and it is up to markus625 to decide what to do with his HTPC......

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
(This post was last modified: 2012-06-23 18:45 by bluray.)
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,225
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #30
(2012-06-23 16:15)Dougie Fresh Wrote:  
(2012-06-23 06:03)bluray Wrote:  
(2012-06-22 22:42)Dougie Fresh Wrote:  Swooping in and saying his system is 115W TDP so get the 160XT + 192W AC adapter is not terribly helpful given the discussion that has already happened in this thread.
Why mess around with under power? Always give yourself some room for other options, and 192W isn't a lot for A8-3820+HD6570 either........

To avoid spending more money than necessary to gain nothing needed for the setup -- it's not like you can add more to that case -- and for the OP to NOT have to take a drill to his case if not absolutely necessary.

Adding a mount for the 4-pin mini-DIN connector is not a simple process given the very small precisely spaced screw holes that need to be added. I work with these connectors all the time so I have experience with this. I have a template and the right drill-bits and it still doesn't always come out right.


I have to agree on this one... why more power for a case you are never going to use? Also if you are not handy with tools why bother...

Get something that works straight out of the box. Just screw the barrel on the back of the hole that's on the case and you are done!

And I love my 90W pico's its all I need ..... I am staying green and my M350 desktop has been doing all my hard work with it... Blush

And if I had the room for an internal burner or something else the 90W would work too.....

Smile
find quote