Internet is working on PC, but XBMC won't recognize it

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
legoman666 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
The internet is working fine on the PC but XBMC is having issues. When I look in the network information in the sysinfo in XBMC, it says
Link: Connected
MAC address: Busy
blah blah
Internet: Busy (and intermittently says "Not connected, check network settings")

Log:
Code:
19:53:52 T:139673477314304 WARNING: FillBuffer: curl failed with code 28
19:53:52 T:139673477314304   ERROR: CCurlFile::CReadState::Open, didn't get any data from stream.
19:53:53 T:139673554544384 WARNING: FillBuffer: curl failed with code 28
19:53:53 T:139673554544384   ERROR: CCurlFile::CReadState::Open, didn't get any data from stream.
19:54:13 T:139673477314304 WARNING: FillBuffer: curl failed with code 28
19:54:13 T:139673477314304   ERROR: CCurlFile::CReadState::Open, didn't get any data from stream.
19:54:14 T:139673554544384 WARNING: FillBuffer: curl failed with code 28
19:54:14 T:139673554544384   ERROR: CCurlFile::CReadState::Open, didn't get any data from stream.

I can't update the library either. This is driving me nuts.
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 25,689
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 169
Post: #2
Do you have a proxy set at all?

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
legoman666 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
No. Not PC wide nor in XBMC.
More logs with debug on:
Code:
20:11:29 T:139673955796960   DEBUG: CFavourites::Load - no userdata favourites found, skipping
20:11:29 T:139673955796960    INFO: Loading skin file: DialogContextMenu.xml
20:11:29 T:139673955796960   DEBUG: ------ Window Init (DialogContextMenu.xml) ------
20:11:31 T:139673955796960   DEBUG: ProcessMouse: trying mouse action leftclick
20:11:31 T:139673955796960   DEBUG: ------ Window Deinit (DialogContextMenu.xml) ------
20:11:31 T:139673955796960   DEBUG: ------ Window Init (DialogVideoScan.xml) ------
20:11:31 T:139673955796960    INFO: Loading skin file: DialogVideoScan.xml
20:11:31 T:139673259169536  NOTICE: Thread CVideoInfoScanner start, auto delete: false
20:11:31 T:139673259169536  NOTICE: VideoInfoScanner: Starting scan ..
20:11:31 T:139673259169536   DEBUG: VideoInfoScanner: Scanning dir '/home/andrew/Videos/' as not in the database
20:11:31 T:139673259169536   DEBUG: GetMusicVideoId (/home/andrew/Videos/NIN _  THE GIFT HD 1920x1080p.mov), query = select idMVideo from musicvideo where idFile=4483
20:11:31 T:139673259169536   DEBUG: VideoInfoScanner: No NFO file found. Using title search for '/home/andrew/Videos/NIN _  THE GIFT HD 1920x1080p.mov'
20:11:31 T:139673259169536   DEBUG: FindMovie: Searching for 'NIN    THE GIFT HD 1920x1080p' using The TVDB scraper (path: '/home/andrew/.xbmc/addons/metadata.tvdb.com', content: 'musicvideos', version: '1.2.4')
20:11:31 T:139673259169536   DEBUG: scraper: CreateSearchUrl returned <url>http://www.thetvdb.com/api/GetSeries.php?seriesname=nin%20%20%20%20the%20gift%20hd%201920x1080p&amp;language=en</url>
20:11:31 T:139673259169536   DEBUG: CurlFile::Open(0x7f0836ff41a8) http://www.thetvdb.com/api/GetSeries.php?seriesname=nin%20%20%20%20the%20gift%20hd%201920x1080p&language=en
20:11:31 T:139673259169536    INFO: easy_aquire - Created session to http://www.thetvdb.com
20:11:37 T:139673955796960   DEBUG: ------ Window Deinit (Pointer.xml) ------
20:11:48 T:139673477314304   DEBUG: GetImageHash - unable to stat url http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/31e/4d05516c7b9aa11bc000231e/nae-yeojachingureul-sogae-habnida-original.jpg
20:11:48 T:139673267562240   DEBUG: GetImageHash - unable to stat url http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/11b/4bc93bed017a3c57fe01911b/wristcutters-a-love-story-original.jpg
20:11:48 T:139673250776832   DEBUG: GetImageHash - unable to stat url http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/057/4c2444227b9aa1446b000057/x-men-original.jpg
20:11:49 T:139673267562240   DEBUG: GetImageHash - unable to stat url http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/b42/4d3e7e987b9aa15bb5000b42/you-will-meet-a-tall-dark-stranger-original.jpg
20:11:49 T:139673477314304   DEBUG: GetImageHash - unable to stat url http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/5ab/4e516a357b9aa12f530005ab/x-men-first-class-original.jpg
20:11:49 T:139673267562240   DEBUG: GetImageHash - unable to stat url http://cf1.imgobject.com/backdrops/0cf/4bd00c40017a3c63f30000cf/x2-original.jpg
20:11:49 T:139673250776832   DEBUG: GetImageHash - unable to stat url http://cf1.imgobject.com/posters/340/4d1d871d5e73d66b2d000340/zombieland-original.jpg
20:11:52 T:139673259169536 WARNING: FillBuffer: curl failed with code 28
20:11:52 T:139673259169536   ERROR: CCurlFile::CReadState::Open, didn't get any data from stream.
20:11:52 T:139673259169536   ERROR: Run: Unable to parse web site
(This post was last modified: 2012-06-07 02:14 by legoman666.)
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 25,689
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 169
Post: #4
Check you don't have something like a virus scanner doing something silly (Kapersky or whatever it is caused this exact issue on thetvdb URLs the other day).

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
legoman666 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Nope, the machine is running Linux Mint. No virus scanner.
In addition to the MAC address and Internet showing as "busy", in the system info, the operating system is also showing up as "busy", as well as the system uptime, total uptime and battery level. For a couple seconds every so often, they display the correct info before quickly changing back to busy.
(This post was last modified: 2012-06-07 02:53 by legoman666.)
find quote
legoman666 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-911...art-0.html fixed my connection issues

I had to change my dns in resolve.conf to the actual dns server instead of my gateway. Baffling.
find quote
rodent84 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
(2012-06-07 13:29)legoman666 Wrote:  http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-911...art-0.html fixed my connection issues

I had to change my dns in resolve.conf to the actual dns server instead of my gateway. Baffling.

Thanks for this tip. I wasn't sure how to do this but just changed the 'nameserver' in resolv.conf to Google public dns - 8.8.8.8. It seems to have fixed a problem I was having with remote addon directories loading painfully slowly.
find quote
odracirivera Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
legoman666 i have your same problem but i cant fix the problem. Im not a tech expert, can you explain it to me like a 5 year old kid how can i fix this problem, Please im a newbee who needs help.THANKS!
(This post was last modified: 2012-06-16 22:07 by odracirivera.)
find quote
odracirivera Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
This is my situation:
The internet is working fine on the PC but XBMC is having issues. When I look in the network information in the sysinfo in XBMC, it says
Link: Connected
MAC address: my address
blah blah
Internet: "Not connected, check network settings"
find quote
legoman666 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
(2012-06-16 22:15)odracirivera Wrote:  This is my situation:
The internet is working fine on the PC but XBMC is having issues. When I look in the network information in the sysinfo in XBMC, it says
Link: Connected
MAC address: my address
blah blah
Internet: "Not connected, check network settings"

open terminal
sudo gedit /etc/resolv.conf
Add the line "nameserver 8.8.8.8" to the bottom or replace your already listed nameserver with 8.8.8.8. Save, relaunch XBMC. 8.8.8.8 is Google's nameserver.

These changes do not persist after a reboot if you're using network-manager (used by Mint, Ubuntu, etc). There is a way to fix this too:
sudo chattr +i /etc/resolv.conf
Should be all you have to do. Let me know if anything is unclear and I or another forum member can try to help.
find quote
wingit Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Hi,

I got the exact problem which the PC with Window XP running fine and internet working also. But, XBMC is not. I can not find the RESOLV.CONF in window XP. How to get XBMC working under XP. Thank you.
find quote
wingit Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Hi,
Continue on my xbmc on xp problem. In xbmc, it shows dns 8.8.8.8 and 192.162.1.199 (my default dns). I rebooted several times, xbmc still shows Internet not connected, please check network setting message. Firewall is off. Please help. Thanks
find quote
t1mh0pe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Hi, I'm also having the same problem - I use XBMC on my PC pretty much every day, however for the last couple of weeks I have been unable to connect to the internet. I'm running Ubuntu 11.10 and everything works fine on that, however when I load XBMC, either from within Ubuntu or from the login screen, no internet. The connection in this case is via ethernet cable.
I also have a copy of XBMC on my laptop running Ubuntu 12.04 which I rarely use, however I fired it up and I'm having the same problem there too, despite it working in the past. The laptop is connected to the internet via wifi and everything works fine apart from XBMC, as evidenced by this post! My thoughts are that a recent update has caused the problem and none of the previously suggested solutions have fixed it for me. Also, as XBMC runs on top of Ubuntu, it seems there's a disconnect between XBMC and Ubuntu that's causing the problem. Is there any way to test if the two are communicating? I'd be happy to post the results here.

Further details: Eden 11.0, running on both Ubuntu 11.10 and 12.04, both ethernet and wifi.Samba/networking are fine, I can stream movies and music from pc to laptop without any problems.
find quote
shompol Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
I just solved this problem on my Ubuntu linux box:
1. Go to Network Settings -> Edit -> IPv4 Settings -> DNS Servers
2. Remove multiple entries and enter 8.8.8.8, reconnect network
3. XBMC add-ons work!
find quote