Let's talk about networking!
So I am in the process of pre planning my unRAID server and HTPC build. I am fairly new to all of this including networking. Currently, I have comcast internet which is located on the first floor. I have a wireless router connected to the modem which provides a wireless network throughout the house. I have my main workstation PC (which is also downstairs) connected into one of the ethernet jacks on the back of the wireless router.

Ideally, I know that the unRAID server and HTPC needs to be hardwired to the router. I have a couple of problems. 1. my house is not prewired with cat5/6 etc. 2. my HTPC will be on the second floor in a bedroom.

I am pretty sure I can plug the unRAID server into the back of the wireless router near my main desktop PC. My problem is how would I get the unRAID server (first floor) to connect to my HTPC (second floor)? Would a wireless bridge resolve my issues? Or something like power line adapters? Running an additional line from the first floor where my router is to the second floor is definitely not a possibility (WAF). Also, how do you guys have your unRAID servers communicating with your HTPC? Thanks in advance.
What sort of content are you wanting to stream? If it's blu-ray (40GB) movies then wireless has no chance. If it's 720p it should be fine.

Is there anyway you could have the server hidden somewhere on the second floor and wire it to the HTPC?

Powerline adapters can work quite well in the right situation.

When you say how do we have them communicating what do you mean?
I was in the same exact situation you are in.

Take a look at this post from my build thread where I talk about solving this problem: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1111518

I tried wireless with some success,..but eventually tried the ZyXEL PLA401v3 HomePlug AV 200 Mbps Powerline Wall-plug Adapter (Starter Kit - 2 units) with HUGE success. All I can say is,...IT WORKS!