Multiple Questions
First post, and I hope I offend no one. Just trying to stay the course here, but need some issues resolved.

I am a total newbie to the HTPC world, so please forgive my ignorance on these topics. Have read great things about XBMC, but have had a very frustrating experience so far, and spent upwards of 40 hours trying to get this all going. I am sure there are threads I have missed because I did not know what to search for, so if they do exist, url's would be greatly appreciated. Here goes.

1. Originally wanted to set this up as a strict XBMCbuntu box, but have abandoned that notion for the time being. Reason is, no matter what method I use to connect to my NAS, the libraries for music, tvshow and movies will simply not update. They just sit there for hours saying "Scanning for new content" and never cycle through any of the files it has been pointed to. Maybe it is something simple, but I could take it no longer and could not find the threads that direct me to a solution on this issue. Here are the system specs:

PC (all components brand new as of 2 weeks ago):
Asus P8H77-M Pro Motherboard
Intel core i3-2105 Processor
Radeon HD5470 Video card with 1GB RAM
8GB Corsair 1600MHz RAM
Kingston 120GB SSD (divided into Win partition, Linux partition, swap partition and unallocated partition)
OCZ 600 watt power supply
Logitech k400 keyboard/mouse

Software (very limited installations and intend to keep it this way):
Win 7 Pro 64bit
XBMCbuntu (Eden)
XBMC (11.0 with temporary upgrade to 12.0)
MPC (Media player classic installed this evening because XBMC would not play any sound in 12.0 - even though it did last night, reverted back to 11.0 and sound is back)

Server:
QNAP TS-459 Pro II

HT Equipment:
Denon AVR-2312
HDMI Direct Connection from HTPC
Klipsch 5.1 Surround speaker package
Toshiba 720p tv (soon to be upgraded)