Automount media drive on startup
Hi,

I will start by saying that I am very new to XBMC and Linux but I am happy to get my hands dirty and am generally fairly computer literate.

Having used Windows Media Center for years I recently built a media center using XBMCBuntu (Eden) and absolutely love it. The install and configuration all seemed to go smoothly and everything is working. I'm now building a second one. Everything is installed and, after some tweaking, seems to be working great. However, I have one remaining problem.

The operating system (and I assume the media library) is installed on an SSD, and all the media files are on a separate internal 1TB SATA hard drive. The media library is set up to access these files. When I startup the system or reboot and try to play any file in the library I get a message saying the file is no longer available. When I exit XBMC and go to File Manager in XBMCBuntu it turns out that the 1TB drive has not been mounted. When I mount it and go back into XBMC all the files play fine. The option to "Mount mountable volumes on program startup" is selected in preferences.

So it seems there is an automount issue.

I have tried to follow the instructions to mount the media partition in the following post:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=123230

I added the line "/dev/sdb1 /storage ext2 defaults 0 0" to fstab (using ext2 because I don't know what else to use. When I then run the mount command, I get the following error:

"wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sdb1"

The hard disk was formatted and loaded with files using Windows, does this make a difference? As I say, once I mount it manually everything is fine, but I really don't want to do this every time I turn the computer on!

Can anyone please help me to get this drive to automount when I boot directly into XBMC?

Thanks very much.
Is this a windows formated drive (the 1 TB drive)?