HDMI Audio Out (Nvidia 8600M)
Hey guys,

Well it's been a struggle. I've never used linux before and all these commands and such have been confusing. However, I have gotten HDMI video to work for my setup. I use a Dell M1530 with an Nvidia card running to a Sharp TV via HDMI.

I have been scouring the 'net for help on this but after running "alsa -l" I can see that the HDMI audio is not even detected.

Does anyone have any help they can offer me?

When in XBMC itself, HDMI shows up as an option. I have tried selecting various setups and it's just not cooperating. It'd be nice to have HDMI audio in XBMCbuntu too, so that Chromium etc can use it.

Thanks so much,

-Frustrated LINUX/XBMC noob.
I just want to add that now when I run the "alsa -l" command it says:

/sbin/alsa and lists a bunch of options. I've tried sudo alsa-reload, and a bunch of other commands, but I can no longer get "alsa -l" to work. This is killing me!
can you copy and paste exactly what it says? Im pretty sure the command you mean to type is 'aplay -l'
ah yes I was putting in the wrong command thank you. Head spinning lol.

OK...output from aplay -l is as follows:

card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
subdevices: 1/1
subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: STAC92xx Digital [STAC92xx Digital]
subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
I think the nVidia 8000 series requires a cable connected between a SPDIF header on the motherboard and one on the card. You'll then need to choose probably plughw:0,1 or hw:0,1 as custom devices when setting up audio output.
That sounds utterly and entirely out of my league. Am I completely out of luck on creating an XBMC box?? Would I be better off running XBMC through Windows (sound issues-wise)?

I was afraid something like this may be at fault, but am crossing my fingers that somebody has figured out a way to make the M1530 into an XBMC unit without hacking into the laptop.