help please mac lion to xbmc atv2
Hello there!

This is my first time jailbreaking the aTV 2 version is 5.0.2. and i installed xbmc from nitoTV.
I have an external Hard drive that is connected to my macbook and it is running Lion. I want to be able to play my avi file movies that are on my external hard drive onto the xbmc on the aTV. I was able to share a the public folder onto the xbmc on the aTV however, i placed one avi file movie in my public folder and it does not see to be in there when i take a look at it on the aTV.

Hope to hear from someone soon!
If you have any questions that you would need to know in order to help me, i will be glad to respond right away.

Thank you for your time.
With lion you either need to use afp/webdav or install smbup to get samba working again.
will you be able to give me a step by step guide ?? which one is the easiest to do ?
I don't use macs but I would say that samba is the simplest to use
http://eduo.info/apps/smbup
There's an additional guide link on the wiki page as well: SMBUp (wiki)
i got it to work where when i try to add videos on xbmc, it says my macbooks name (SAMBA). but when i click on that, nothing happens.
because you didn't use smbup i would guess, but lions internal samba server which is incompatible...
AppleTV4/iPhone/iPod/iPad: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for Kodi: NFS (wiki)
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Avahi_Zeroconf (wiki)
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ (wiki)
I'm on Lion, and found NFS was the best way (for me). You can find all the info in the wiki, http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=NFS .
Speed is definitely higher than using Samba, and stability better than AFP (at least when I tried).

Good luck.
Ubuntu 9.10 - XBMC 9.11 Beta
@sinarquia - here are your 20 bucks for spreading my opinion Wink
AppleTV4/iPhone/iPod/iPad: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here